[Mod] Carts [carts]

tinoesroho
Member
 
Posts: 570
Joined: Fri Feb 17, 2012 21:55

by tinoesroho » Tue Aug 14, 2012 01:16

It wasn't that hard to do. I wound up disabling normal furnaces and left automated stuff as a replacement. Now if only I could get automated pickup of the output...
We are what we create.

I tinker and occasionally make (lousy) mods. Currently building an MMO subgame and updating mods. Pirate Party of Canada member. Sporadic author. 21 years old.

My github:
https://github.com/tinoesroho/
 

User avatar
RealBadAngel
Member
 
Posts: 556
Joined: Wed Jul 18, 2012 16:30

by RealBadAngel » Tue Aug 14, 2012 01:27

print("Could not insert '"..cooked.item.."'")

remove this line from furnaces code. its a bug. when filled whole inventory will cause crash, and world will be unusable.
or at least remove ..cooked.item..
 

Josh
Member
 
Posts: 1146
Joined: Fri Jun 29, 2012 23:11

by Josh » Thu Aug 16, 2012 03:05

I tried this & it works! thank's PilzAdam you make great mods i find them very cool! Also an way to ride the cart is to stand on it but it's very glitchy. When will we be able to ride the carts?
 

User avatar
PilzAdam
Member
 
Posts: 4026
Joined: Fri Jul 20, 2012 16:19
GitHub: PilzAdam
IRC: PilzAdam

by PilzAdam » Thu Aug 16, 2012 10:09

Josh wrote:I tried this & it works! thank's PilzAdam you make great mods i find them very cool! Also an way to ride the cart is to stand on it but it's very glitchy. When will we be able to ride the carts?

There need to be some new functions for the lua api. So it depends on the engine developers.
 

User avatar
aFoxNamedMorris
Member
 
Posts: 14
Joined: Sat Aug 11, 2012 15:57

by aFoxNamedMorris » Thu Aug 16, 2012 20:29

PilzAdam wrote:
Josh wrote:I tried this & it works! thank's PilzAdam you make great mods i find them very cool! Also an way to ride the cart is to stand on it but it's very glitchy. When will we be able to ride the carts?

There need to be some new functions for the lua api. So it depends on the engine developers.


Yeah... It'd be nice if you could just tap the 'mine' button, teleport in, press the 'place' button, and ride. 4 walls, a floor, and all moving, pushing/pulling the player around.... that'd be nice.

One day, maybe. n.n Tho I've never looked at the code to this game, and my C++ is VERY rusty atm... Maybe I should study again?
 

User avatar
Phitherek_
Member
 
Posts: 112
Joined: Thu Aug 23, 2012 16:17

by Phitherek_ » Sat Aug 25, 2012 20:48

Great mod! Can you make it compatible with copper rail from MoreOres mod?
---
Posted by Phitherek_
 

User avatar
PilzAdam
Member
 
Posts: 4026
Joined: Fri Jul 20, 2012 16:19
GitHub: PilzAdam
IRC: PilzAdam

by PilzAdam » Sat Aug 25, 2012 21:50

Phitherek_ wrote:Great mod! Can you make it compatible with copper rail from MoreOres mod?

Yes I will do it (see GitHub).
 

User avatar
Phitherek_
Member
 
Posts: 112
Joined: Thu Aug 23, 2012 16:17

by Phitherek_ » Sun Aug 26, 2012 13:33

Wow, this was the most fastly done request ever :D. Thank you!
Last edited by Phitherek_ on Sun Aug 26, 2012 13:34, edited 1 time in total.
---
Posted by Phitherek_
 

User avatar
PilzAdam
Member
 
Posts: 4026
Joined: Fri Jul 20, 2012 16:19
GitHub: PilzAdam
IRC: PilzAdam

by PilzAdam » Sun Aug 26, 2012 13:38

Phitherek_ wrote:Wow, this was the most fastly done request ever :D. Thank you!

It was realy hard work ;-) https://github.com/PilzAdam/carts/commit/f4a9c3271bfe2def28bb4ce830adc0b5dafff8be
 

User avatar
rubenwardy
Member
 
Posts: 4500
Joined: Tue Jun 12, 2012 18:11
GitHub: rubenwardy
IRC: rubenwardy
In-game: rubenwardy

by rubenwardy » Sun Aug 26, 2012 13:54

PilzAdam wrote:
Phitherek_ wrote:Wow, this was the most fastly done request ever :D. Thank you!

It was realy hard work ;-) https://github.com/PilzAdam/carts/commit/f4a9c3271bfe2def28bb4ce830adc0b5dafff8be


lol
 

sysedit
Member
 
Posts: 27
Joined: Sun Aug 12, 2012 10:53

by sysedit » Mon Aug 27, 2012 20:01

Hello,

when the cart is not moving its sound is played in a loop.
Even If I move very far away from the rails.
I think this happened after logging out while a cart was moving.
Logging out and back in again does not change a thing.
 

User avatar
PilzAdam
Member
 
Posts: 4026
Joined: Fri Jul 20, 2012 16:19
GitHub: PilzAdam
IRC: PilzAdam

by PilzAdam » Mon Aug 27, 2012 21:34

sysedit wrote:Hello,

when the cart is not moving its sound is played in a loop.
Even If I move very far away from the rails.
I think this happened after logging out while a cart was moving.
Logging out and back in again does not change a thing.

Wich version of minetest do you use? This can be a bug in the sound api of the engine.
 

User avatar
Phitherek_
Member
 
Posts: 112
Joined: Thu Aug 23, 2012 16:17

by Phitherek_ » Mon Aug 27, 2012 23:27

I found one more bug. It may be due to lags, but the carts replicate themselves out of nothing :D.
---
Posted by Phitherek_
 

sysedit
Member
 
Posts: 27
Joined: Sun Aug 12, 2012 10:53

by sysedit » Tue Aug 28, 2012 17:42

PilzAdam wrote:Wich version of minetest do you use? This can be a bug in the sound api of the engine.

0.4.2 rc1
 

User avatar
Phitherek_
Member
 
Posts: 112
Joined: Thu Aug 23, 2012 16:17

by Phitherek_ » Tue Aug 28, 2012 21:16

Uh, one more bug, quite serious and annoying. It is with meseconrails (cart detectors). Firstly, they do not connect to other rails, so sometimes it is really hard to make a detector. What is more, a turned on meseconrail does NOT connect with turned off meseconrail, which causes real problems even if you try to kind of setup the rails to match the normal ones.
---
Posted by Phitherek_
 

User avatar
PilzAdam
Member
 
Posts: 4026
Joined: Fri Jul 20, 2012 16:19
GitHub: PilzAdam
IRC: PilzAdam

by PilzAdam » Tue Aug 28, 2012 21:57

Phitherek_ wrote:Uh, one more bug, quite serious and annoying. It is with meseconrails (cart detectors). Firstly, they do not connect to other rails, so sometimes it is really hard to make a detector. What is more, a turned on meseconrail does NOT connect with turned off meseconrail, which causes real problems even if you try to kind of setup the rails to match the normal ones.

This are only texture bugs. It has no effect on the cart.
Anyway I cant do anything about it because the engine (Minetest) dont accept raillike drawtypes with different rails.
 

sysedit
Member
 
Posts: 27
Joined: Sun Aug 12, 2012 10:53

by sysedit » Wed Aug 29, 2012 18:17

After restart of the server the looping sound went away. I try to reproduce it again and will keep you posted.
 

User avatar
Phitherek_
Member
 
Posts: 112
Joined: Thu Aug 23, 2012 16:17

by Phitherek_ » Wed Aug 29, 2012 21:00

sysedit: The restart of the server generally fixes most of the problems with lags, hanging and chunks not loading. It seems to me that you just had some lag or hang that caused it.
---
Posted by Phitherek_
 

User avatar
SegFault22
Member
 
Posts: 870
Joined: Mon May 21, 2012 03:17

by SegFault22 » Mon Sep 10, 2012 03:40

What if, punching minecarts gives them some velocity, but then they slow down and stop? Maybe, crafting a rail with a mesecon can make a track that gives a moving cart velocity, and when off it makes the cart slow down...?
That would be radical,...
Resources are abundant; only money is scarce. People should not have to work hard and remain poor just to pay for the needs of survival.
Society can thrive without money - but only if productive members of society are rewarded for being productive.
 

User avatar
PilzAdam
Member
 
Posts: 4026
Joined: Fri Jul 20, 2012 16:19
GitHub: PilzAdam
IRC: PilzAdam

by PilzAdam » Mon Sep 10, 2012 14:44

SegFault22 wrote:What if, punching minecarts gives them some velocity, but then they slow down and stop? Maybe, crafting a rail with a mesecon can make a track that gives a moving cart velocity, and when off it makes the cart slow down...?
That would be radical,...

I was thinking of a more realistic behavior. I will make it when I have the time for it.
 

User avatar
jordan4ibanez
Member
 
Posts: 1865
Joined: Tue Sep 27, 2011 18:44
GitHub: jordan4ibanez
IRC: jordan4ibanez
In-game: jordan4ibanez

by jordan4ibanez » Tue Sep 25, 2012 02:49

please update this
If you can think it, you can make it.
 

User avatar
PilzAdam
Member
 
Posts: 4026
Joined: Fri Jul 20, 2012 16:19
GitHub: PilzAdam
IRC: PilzAdam

by PilzAdam » Tue Sep 25, 2012 14:04

jordan4ibanez wrote:please update this

Update what? There is no "good" way to implement carts in lua. It has to be done in c++.
 

User avatar
GJH105775
Member
 
Posts: 106
Joined: Thu Sep 27, 2012 16:11

by GJH105775 » Sun Sep 30, 2012 00:31

Thanks, I modded it so that copper rails went faster and love it, eccept for the player has no free abilty to look where going.
Check out my mod xtrablocks, has some different types of marble that you can build with or mine at different depths

I am not here regularly as I just kind of pop in and out. If you want to find me I'll be on quadcopterforum.com helping with multirotor builds and spending other's money haha.

http://i10.photobucket.com/albums/a119/ ... hicons.jpg
 

DrB
Member
 
Posts: 13
Joined: Mon Oct 01, 2012 19:19

by DrB » Mon Oct 01, 2012 19:22

nutz the carts kinda stop when out of site for me... dont know if i need a power generator beside the rail, etc... would be nice if the rail chest would auto load into a furnace, then i could mine and log trees through them into the cart and send it back to the furnace to run, LOL
 

Temperest
Member
 
Posts: 651
Joined: Tue Nov 15, 2011 23:13
GitHub: Uberi

by Temperest » Mon Oct 01, 2012 19:51

Carts do not work if they move into an unloaded chunk. There is nothing that can be done about this outside of adding fake players to stand at designated positions, or increasing the chunk load distance in your minetest.conf configuration file.
Last edited by Temperest on Mon Oct 01, 2012 19:52, edited 1 time in total.
WorldEdit 1.0 released

The Mesecons Laboratory - the art of Mesecons circuitry
Latest article: Mesecons Basics.
 

DrB
Member
 
Posts: 13
Joined: Mon Oct 01, 2012 19:19

by DrB » Wed Oct 03, 2012 03:46

Temperest wrote:Carts do not work if they move into an unloaded chunk. There is nothing that can be done about this outside of adding fake players to stand at designated positions, or increasing the chunk load distance in your minetest.conf configuration file.


Hmmm, i don't have a chunk setting, BUT, i do know what you mean (and do know how to add it)

Ok only thing i could find about distance is...

max_block_send_distance = 20
max_block_generate_distance = 14

so i added those, but the question i have is, is there a way to use mesecons to run power to the rails so they will continously run?
Last edited by DrB on Wed Oct 03, 2012 04:12, edited 1 time in total.
 

Temperest
Member
 
Posts: 651
Joined: Tue Nov 15, 2011 23:13
GitHub: Uberi

by Temperest » Wed Oct 03, 2012 19:29

You can probably just run a long Mesecons wire (uninsulated) beside the track to power the entire railway.
Last edited by Temperest on Wed Oct 03, 2012 19:29, edited 1 time in total.
WorldEdit 1.0 released

The Mesecons Laboratory - the art of Mesecons circuitry
Latest article: Mesecons Basics.
 

User avatar
PilzAdam
Member
 
Posts: 4026
Joined: Fri Jul 20, 2012 16:19
GitHub: PilzAdam
IRC: PilzAdam

by PilzAdam » Wed Nov 07, 2012 18:45

Hybrid Dog wrote:You could define the player as an object.

Players are objects...
The problem is that you cant handle them like Lua-entities.
 

User avatar
Topywo
Member
 
Posts: 1718
Joined: Fri May 18, 2012 20:27

by Topywo » Wed Nov 07, 2012 19:24

Hybrid Dog wrote:again:
Fatal error: Out of memory (allocated 1835008) (tried to allocate 19456 bytes) in /srv/www/minetest.net/www/forum/include/url/Default/forum_urls.php on line 75


Just go back, wait a sec and click the link/page/post again. That works for me.
 

User avatar
Topywo
Member
 
Posts: 1718
Joined: Fri May 18, 2012 20:27

by Topywo » Wed Nov 07, 2012 19:25

Hybrid Dog wrote:again:
Fatal error: Out of memory (allocated 1835008) (tried to allocate 19456 bytes) in /srv/www/minetest.net/www/forum/include/url/Default/forum_urls.php on line 75


Just go back, wait a sec and click the link/page/post again. That works for me.

Edit: lol, I got this one trying to submit reply:

Fatal error: Out of memory (allocated 2359296) (tried to allocate 311296 bytes) in /srv/www/minetest.net/www/forum/cache/cache_bans.php on line 1255

Edit2: Looks like it did post it though.
Last edited by Topywo on Wed Nov 07, 2012 19:26, edited 1 time in total.
 

PreviousNext

Return to Mod Releases

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 6 guests

cron