[Windows] BlockMen's builds (32 & 64bit): LevelDB, DirectX

User avatar
sfan5
Member
 
Posts: 3636
Joined: Wed Aug 24, 2011 09:44
GitHub: sfan5
IRC: sfan5

by sfan5 » Fri Jan 17, 2014 18:17

BlockMen wrote:
sfan5 wrote:
wtfsamcrap wrote:well it is much better then LUA api it is C#'s Graphics side
meaning it is better
its powerr is kinda like openGL
or Direct3d
meaning if you need any thing like 2 things in 1 hand use DirectX

<semi-ironic>..And this, kids, is the result of Microsoft's propaganda that everyone should use DirectX and it is better.</semi-ironic>
Also Direct3D and DirectX are the same thing.
And "well it is much better then LUA api it is C#'s Graphics side" does not make any sense.


For me following difference:
OpenGL: ~40 FPS
Direct3d9: ~65 FPS

How is that propaganda?

Microsoft relies on graphic card drivers to provide an OpenGL functionality, but they make sure DirectX works good themselves.
This way Microsoft makes sure their (own) Direct3D stack works fastest while OpenGL may be slower.
If one were to port Direct3D to Linux and compare it to OpenGL it would have the same performance.
-> Microsoft (kind of) forced OpenGL to be slower.
www.grokdoc.net/index.php/Dirty_Tricks_history#OpenGL (Snapshot 7. Oct 2013 on Wayback Machine)
Mods: Mesecons | WorldEdit | Nuke
Minetest builds for Windows (32-bit & 64-bit)
 

User avatar
Inocudom
Member
 
Posts: 2889
Joined: Sat Sep 29, 2012 01:14
IRC: Inocudom
In-game: Inocudom

by Inocudom » Fri Jan 17, 2014 20:43

Is there a way to restore OpenGL's speed?
 

User avatar
sfan5
Member
 
Posts: 3636
Joined: Wed Aug 24, 2011 09:44
GitHub: sfan5
IRC: sfan5

by sfan5 » Fri Jan 17, 2014 20:49

Inocudom wrote:Is there a way to restore OpenGL's speed?

Without switching to Linux or Max OS X, no.
Mods: Mesecons | WorldEdit | Nuke
Minetest builds for Windows (32-bit & 64-bit)
 

User avatar
BlockMen
Member
 
Posts: 768
Joined: Fri Mar 01, 2013 17:24
GitHub: BlockMen

by BlockMen » Sat Jan 18, 2014 10:15

New build: 0.4.9-dev20140118 (66b24cc9ff)

https://www.dropbox.com/s/lh8nqpgjy26tp6b/minetest-0.4.9-dev20140118.zip

[spoiler=Commits since last build]
- Fixed mainmenu lua errors because of changes in get_textlist_index
- Deindent HTTPFetchRequest::HTTPFetchRequest()
- Prevent player jumping into nodes from below
- Prevent placing node when player would be inside new node
- Fix win32 reading semaphore count not working (broke all queues)
- Make default User-agent follow RFC 2616
- Fix building with MinGW
[/spoiler]
 

User avatar
Krock
Member
 
Posts: 3598
Joined: Thu Oct 03, 2013 07:48
GitHub: SmallJoker

by Krock » Thu Jan 23, 2014 18:56

I've tested the new version and noticed one thing which made me thinking:

Your phone or window isn't wide enough to display the code box. If it's a phone, try rotating it to landscape mode.
Code: Select all
Loaded mesh: mobs_stone_monster.x
Could not open file of texture: oerkki.png
Loaded mesh: mobs_oerkki.x
Loaded mesh: mobs_stone_monster.x
Could not open file of texture: oerkki.png
Loaded mesh: mobs_oerkki.x
Could not open file of texture: oerkki.png
Loaded mesh: mobs_oerkki.x
Loaded mesh: mobs_stone_monster.x
Loaded mesh: mobs_stone_monster.x

and this about 20x, played about an half hour.
The meshes load, even if they're already loaded.
Is this a bug or more like a feature for changing meshes, so it would be like an updating instead of a server spam?
Newest Win32 builds - Find a mod - All my mods
ALL YOUR DONATION ARE BELONG TO PARAMAT (Please support him and Minetest)
New DuckDuckGo !bang: !mtmod <keyword here>
 

User avatar
BlockMen
Member
 
Posts: 768
Joined: Fri Mar 01, 2013 17:24
GitHub: BlockMen

by BlockMen » Fri Jan 31, 2014 15:33

New build: 0.4.9-dev20140131 (21f1bec724)

https://www.dropbox.com/s/gczow8b19eols30/minetest-0.4.9-dev20140131.zip

[spoiler=Commits since last build]
- New HUD element - waypoint.
- Fix bug only half of unreliable queue handled per step in worst case
- Fix use of previously deallocated EmergeManager
- Fix error on mod download failure
- Pass pointed_thing to on_punch and minetest.register_on_punchnode callbacks
- Include system info in the HTTP user agent on Windows
- Add pointed_thing to minetest.register_on_placenode
- Connection: Stop processing malformed packet when encountered
- Fix curl dll not getting installed when sound is disabled
- Fix minetest.rotate_and_place() calling on_rightclick() with nil/random param for node
- Update lua_api.txt documentation
- LuaVoxelManip: Add get_param2_data and set_param2_data
- Schematic: Read slice probability table from schematic descriptors
[/spoiler]

@Krock: It's no bug, it just appears now(that often) since the model lightning has been fixed. ;)
 

User avatar
BlockMen
Member
 
Posts: 768
Joined: Fri Mar 01, 2013 17:24
GitHub: BlockMen

by BlockMen » Thu Feb 06, 2014 21:12

New build: 0.4.9-dev20140206 (bc0bbffa14)

https://www.dropbox.com/s/9qsbb8mt9whdekt/minetest-0.4.9-dev20140206.zip

[spoiler=Commits since last build]
- Add missing header
- Add the option to bind to a specific address
- Remove blank default values for emergequeue_limit_* settings
- Revert "Fix settings to honor numeric conversion errors"
- Fix another heap-use-after-free in pause menu.
- Fix unexpected preprocessor directive in gettext.cpp
- Fix settings to honor numeric conversion errors
- Update minetest.conf.example
- Huge overhaul of the entire MapgenParams system
- Settings: Add no-exception variants of each get method
- Fix crash when a error occurs in a globalstep callback
- Escape texture pack names
- Add minetest.kick_player(name, reason)
- Remove noisy error messages, prepend "pathfinder: " to pathfinder messages
- Add missing "-" to list of allowed chars in media filenames
- Add additional check to avoid broadcasting private messages in error conditions
- Add player:override_day_night_ratio() for arbitrarily controlling sunlight brightness
- Add player:set_sky() with simple skybox support
- Add propper client initialization
[/spoiler]
 

User avatar
Krock
Member
 
Posts: 3598
Joined: Thu Oct 03, 2013 07:48
GitHub: SmallJoker

by Krock » Fri Feb 07, 2014 11:56

Your phone or window isn't wide enough to display the code box. If it's a phone, try rotating it to landscape mode.
Code: Select all
[Plantlife Library] Loaded
Pipeworks loaded!
[BitChange] Loaded.
[moreblocks] loaded.
[Moretrees] Loaded (2013-02-11)
12:55:41: ACTION[main]: Loading Land Rush Land Claim
12:55:44: ERROR[ConnectionSend]: Bind failed: Socket and bind address families d
o not match
12:55:44: ACTION[ServerThread]: announcing to servers.minetest.net
12:55:44: ACTION[main]:         .__               __                   __
12:55:44: ACTION[main]:   _____ |__| ____   _____/  |_  ____   _______/  |_
12:55:44: ACTION[main]:  /     \|  |/    \_/ __ \   __\/ __ \ /  ___/\   __\
12:55:44: ACTION[main]: |  Y Y  \  |   |  \  ___/|  | \  ___/ \___ \  |  |
12:55:44: ACTION[main]: |__|_|  /__|___|  /\___  >__|  \___  >____  > |__|
12:55:44: ACTION[main]:       \/        \/     \/          \/     \/
12:55:44: ACTION[main]: World at [C:\Program Files\MT\bin\..\worlds\qpudblic]
12:55:44: ACTION[main]: Server for gameid="minetest" listening on fe80:0:0:0:882
4:16b0:5003:172d:30000.
Unified Inventory. inventory size: 364
12:55:46: ERROR[main]: ERROR: An unhandled exception occurred: Failed to bind so
cket (port already in use?)


Reproduceable with
Your phone or window isn't wide enough to display the code box. If it's a phone, try rotating it to landscape mode.
Code: Select all
bin\minetest.exe --server --worldname "XYZ"
Newest Win32 builds - Find a mod - All my mods
ALL YOUR DONATION ARE BELONG TO PARAMAT (Please support him and Minetest)
New DuckDuckGo !bang: !mtmod <keyword here>
 

User avatar
Pitriss
Member
 
Posts: 253
Joined: Mon Aug 05, 2013 17:09
GitHub: Pitriss
IRC: pitriss
In-game: pitriss

by Pitriss » Fri Feb 07, 2014 13:07

You have probably server already running on this port..
I reject your reality and substitute my own. (A. Savage, Mythbusters)
I'm not modding and/or playing minetest anymore. All my mods were released under WTFPL. You can fix/modify them yourself. Don't ask me for support. Thanks.
 

User avatar
Krock
Member
 
Posts: 3598
Joined: Thu Oct 03, 2013 07:48
GitHub: SmallJoker

by Krock » Fri Feb 07, 2014 14:22

Pitriss wrote:You have probably server already running on this port..

Well, PC started up, I copied files and started it. Didn't work, so i restored revious build and it - wow, surprise - worked again.
Newest Win32 builds - Find a mod - All my mods
ALL YOUR DONATION ARE BELONG TO PARAMAT (Please support him and Minetest)
New DuckDuckGo !bang: !mtmod <keyword here>
 

User avatar
BlockMen
Member
 
Posts: 768
Joined: Fri Mar 01, 2013 17:24
GitHub: BlockMen

by BlockMen » Wed Feb 26, 2014 13:33

New build: 0.4.9-dev20140226 (18fd913e69)

https://www.dropbox.com/s/an3nz1q73fpl80v/minetest-0.4.9-dev20140226.zip

+ Commits since last build
Last edited by BlockMen on Tue Apr 22, 2014 20:38, edited 1 time in total.
 

CheerfulCherub
Member
 
Posts: 59
Joined: Sat Jan 25, 2014 23:03

by CheerfulCherub » Thu Feb 27, 2014 11:08

Blockman thank-you this works great, i really enjoyed this build, but as for today I am leaving Minetest, seems everytime I tried to get help with a topic I am either bring up an old topic and told to stop bumping an old topic , or not placing in the right folder, or spawning. I do my research before I even place a help on here, go to utube, go to Minetest WiKi, go to the Internet. So today I am going to look for a new game.
 

User avatar
Krock
Member
 
Posts: 3598
Joined: Thu Oct 03, 2013 07:48
GitHub: SmallJoker

by Krock » Thu Feb 27, 2014 15:45

@CheerfulCherub: Maybe you exactly asked questions, which 1000 others did before, not everybody wants to explain the same thing again and again. Hope, you'll come back some day.

@BlockMen: nice built, bug reports will follow (if available) in the edit:

Console:
Your phone or window isn't wide enough to display the code box. If it's a phone, try rotating it to landscape mode.
Code: Select all
17:07:28: ERROR[main]: ERROR: An unhandled exception occurred: Failed to bind so
cket (port already in use?)

Debug.txt
Your phone or window isn't wide enough to display the code box. If it's a phone, try rotating it to landscape mode.
Code: Select all
17:07:28: ERROR[main]: ERROR: An unhandled exception occurred: Failed to bind socket (port already in use?)

minetest.conf (changed to IPv6 address, before it was IPv4 but the new server version did not accept it)
Your phone or window isn't wide enough to display the code box. If it's a phone, try rotating it to landscape mode.
Code: Select all
server_address = fe80:0:0:0:8824:16b0:5003:172d

And then I tried:
Your phone or window isn't wide enough to display the code box. If it's a phone, try rotating it to landscape mode.
Code: Select all
server_address = [fe80:0:0:0:8824:16b0:5003:172d]

After this I tried to disable the IPv6 protocol in the network connection - no success.
There's not even a "--ipv4" arg to force using a protocol which worked before.
Not every provider has IPv6 set-up yet.
I know, you're just compiling the sources but would you (or someone else) be so nice and fix this?
Last edited by Krock on Thu Feb 27, 2014 16:21, edited 1 time in total.
Newest Win32 builds - Find a mod - All my mods
ALL YOUR DONATION ARE BELONG TO PARAMAT (Please support him and Minetest)
New DuckDuckGo !bang: !mtmod <keyword here>
 

User avatar
CraigyDavi
Member
 
Posts: 565
Joined: Sat Aug 10, 2013 13:08
GitHub: davisonio
IRC: davisonio or CraigyDavi
In-game: davisonio or CraigyDavi

by CraigyDavi » Thu Feb 27, 2014 16:36

Krock: I have exactly the same problem when I use a new development version of minetest. I don't think its a problem with any specific build. I too would appreciate it if someone told me what is wrong.
Last edited by CraigyDavi on Thu Feb 27, 2014 16:36, edited 1 time in total.
 

CheerfulCherub
Member
 
Posts: 59
Joined: Sat Jan 25, 2014 23:03

by CheerfulCherub » Sun Mar 02, 2014 04:03

I came back can't find another game as good as this one, I don't want to play Minecraft, just find this game is better, and I would like to know if someday we are going to get a single playable character on survial, that we can see, simular to Minecraft. Also why Blockman everytime I log out in my house I am outside when I log back in, can't set my bed as home.
 

User avatar
hoodedice
Member
 
Posts: 1372
Joined: Sat Jul 06, 2013 06:33

by hoodedice » Sun Mar 02, 2014 04:32

CheerfulCherub wrote:I came back can't find another game as good as this one, I don't want to play Minecraft, just find this game is better, and I would like to know if someday we are going to get a single playable character on survial, that we can see, simular to Minecraft. Also why Blockman everytime I log out in my house I am outside when I log back in, can't set my bed as home.


We will probably get that feature in the next version of minetest - Blockman is working on it =D
7:42 PM - Bauglio: I think if you go to staples you could steal firmware from a fax machine that would run better than win10 does on any platform
7:42 PM - Bauglio: so fudge the stable build
7:43 PM - Bauglio: get the staple build
 

User avatar
BlockMen
Member
 
Posts: 768
Joined: Fri Mar 01, 2013 17:24
GitHub: BlockMen

by BlockMen » Sat Apr 12, 2014 18:46

New build: 0.4.9-dev20140412 (8b02a015eb)

https://www.dropbox.com/s/dx810tlbrgnrfm9/minetest-0.4.9-dev20140412.zip

With third person view and LevelDB support

+ Commits since last build (50)
Last edited by BlockMen on Tue Apr 22, 2014 20:38, edited 2 times in total.
 

User avatar
BrunoMine
Member
 
Posts: 902
Joined: Thu Apr 25, 2013 17:29
GitHub: BrunoMine

by BrunoMine » Sat Apr 12, 2014 20:19

Very good!
My small square universe under construction ... Minemacro
Comunidade Minetest Brasil
www.minetestbrasil.com
 

User avatar
Krock
Member
 
Posts: 3598
Joined: Thu Oct 03, 2013 07:48
GitHub: SmallJoker

by Krock » Sun Apr 13, 2014 06:50

brunob.santos wrote:Very good!

Hmm not for me..
Image
A feature of Win Vista. So I googled a bit and found this
Problem not detected in sfan5's builds.
Newest Win32 builds - Find a mod - All my mods
ALL YOUR DONATION ARE BELONG TO PARAMAT (Please support him and Minetest)
New DuckDuckGo !bang: !mtmod <keyword here>
 

User avatar
BlockMen
Member
 
Posts: 768
Joined: Fri Mar 01, 2013 17:24
GitHub: BlockMen

by BlockMen » Sun Apr 13, 2014 11:47

Krock wrote:
brunob.santos wrote:Very good!

Hmm not for me..
http://i.imgur.com/TVlj1Yz.png
A feature of Win Vista. So I googled a bit and found this
Problem not detected in sfan5's builds.


The link was helpfull, thanks.

Could you try out this build and give feedback?
https://www.dropbox.com/s/o0rorkx68w9nsbc/minetest-0.4.9-dev20140412_gettickfix.zip
 

User avatar
Krock
Member
 
Posts: 3598
Joined: Thu Oct 03, 2013 07:48
GitHub: SmallJoker

by Krock » Sun Apr 13, 2014 12:00

BlockMen wrote:The link was helpfull, thanks.

Could you try out this build and give feedback?
https://www.dropbox.com/s/o0rorkx68w9nsbc/minetest-0.4.9-dev20140412_gettickfix.zip

Sorry, the problem still exists and I have no idea from which part of Minetest it comes..
Newest Win32 builds - Find a mod - All my mods
ALL YOUR DONATION ARE BELONG TO PARAMAT (Please support him and Minetest)
New DuckDuckGo !bang: !mtmod <keyword here>
 

User avatar
BlockMen
Member
 
Posts: 768
Joined: Fri Mar 01, 2013 17:24
GitHub: BlockMen

by BlockMen » Sun Apr 13, 2014 12:58

Krock wrote:
BlockMen wrote:The link was helpfull, thanks.

Could you try out this build and give feedback?
https://www.dropbox.com/s/o0rorkx68w9nsbc/minetest-0.4.9-dev20140412_gettickfix.zip

Sorry, the problem still exists and I have no idea from which part of Minetest it comes..


Ok, i think i got it now. I made a mistake when linking leveldb library.

Try this one ;)
https://www.dropbox.com/s/xilmowtwjjhtllk/minetest-0.4.9-dev20140412_fix2.zip
 

User avatar
philipbenr
Member
 
Posts: 1665
Joined: Fri Jun 14, 2013 01:56
GitHub: philipbenr
IRC: philipbenr
In-game: WisdomFire or philipbenr

by philipbenr » Sun Apr 13, 2014 20:16

Hey Blockmen: Following error when trying to access sound volume from menu:

Image

Some exception: "Access Violation"

It happens whenever I use the [esc] menu buttons except for the Exit to OS
Last edited by philipbenr on Sun Apr 13, 2014 23:27, edited 1 time in total.
"The Foot is down!"
 

User avatar
BlockMen
Member
 
Posts: 768
Joined: Fri Mar 01, 2013 17:24
GitHub: BlockMen

by BlockMen » Tue Apr 22, 2014 20:45

New build: 0.4.9-dev20140422 (127f354e7a)

https://www.dropbox.com/s/3w7l5t04m4sz40q/minetest-0.4.9-dev20140422.zip

NEW: My builds include the Minetest NeXt game now.

Furthermore the directx pre-enabled builds include just a minetest.exe that must be included in the first download of this topic. (no need to waste web space;) )

+ Commits since last build (24)


@philipbenr that is fixed now
 

User avatar
philipbenr
Member
 
Posts: 1665
Joined: Fri Jun 14, 2013 01:56
GitHub: philipbenr
IRC: philipbenr
In-game: WisdomFire or philipbenr

Re: BlockMen's Windows build: gettext, cURL, TTF, LuaJIT, Le

by philipbenr » Thu Apr 24, 2014 22:59

Ok, thanks. Did you also see my directional fog error with 3rd person view? I don't know whether or not you would be the person to fix it... Anyhow, it is in Bugs and Problems> Directional lighting error.
 

User avatar
BlockMen
Member
 
Posts: 768
Joined: Fri Mar 01, 2013 17:24
GitHub: BlockMen

Re: BlockMen's Windows builds: LuaJIT, LevelDB, DirectX

by BlockMen » Fri Apr 25, 2014 21:48

New builds: 0.4.9-dev20140425 (3a6d6e4751)

NEW: I'm providing now 32bit AND 64bit versions

32Bit:
Minetest 0.4.9-dev20140425

64Bit:
Minetest 0.4.9-x64-dev20140425

DirectX pre-enabled builds only on request now.

+ Commits since last build (10)
 

User avatar
Zsoltisawesome
Member
 
Posts: 177
Joined: Sun Dec 18, 2011 18:07
GitHub: realtinymonster
IRC: zsoltisawesome microcarrot
In-game: ManOfMinetest24 Name zsoltisawesome

Re: BlockMen's Windows builds: LuaJIT, LevelDB, DirectX

by Zsoltisawesome » Fri Apr 25, 2014 22:23

Yay!
 

User avatar
philipbenr
Member
 
Posts: 1665
Joined: Fri Jun 14, 2013 01:56
GitHub: philipbenr
IRC: philipbenr
In-game: WisdomFire or philipbenr

Re: BlockMen's Windows builds(32/64bit):LuaJIT, LevelDB, Dir

by philipbenr » Sat Apr 26, 2014 00:24

ooooohhhh... 64 bit.

That's cool.

Thanks for the awesome stuff Blockmen!
 

User avatar
Zsoltisawesome
Member
 
Posts: 177
Joined: Sun Dec 18, 2011 18:07
GitHub: realtinymonster
IRC: zsoltisawesome microcarrot
In-game: ManOfMinetest24 Name zsoltisawesome

Re: BlockMen's Windows builds(32/64bit):LuaJIT, LevelDB, Dir

by Zsoltisawesome » Sat Apr 26, 2014 03:40

"The application was unable to start correctly (0xc000007b). Click OK to close the application" is the error I get when trying to start the X64 executable.

I will try the X32...
 

User avatar
BlockMen
Member
 
Posts: 768
Joined: Fri Mar 01, 2013 17:24
GitHub: BlockMen

by BlockMen » Sat Apr 26, 2014 08:17

Zsoltisawesome wrote:"The application was unable to start correctly (0xc000007b). Click OK to close the application" is the error I get when trying to start the X64 executable.

I will try the X32...


I have updated the 64bit version. If that doesnt help you should re-install Microsoft Visual C++: Installer(64bit)
 

PreviousNext

Return to Minetest Builds

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests

cron