Android port efforts

User avatar
stu
Member
 
Posts: 737
Joined: Sat Feb 02, 2013 02:51
GitHub: stujones11

by stu » Wed Feb 19, 2014 23:17

New build: Minetest-debug.apk

Incorporated some updates from the freeminer android branch

Fixed lighting and some UI improvements (still needs some work with this stupid keyboard issue)
Last edited by stu on Wed Feb 19, 2014 23:18, edited 1 time in total.
 

spillz
Member
 
Posts: 138
Joined: Thu Feb 13, 2014 05:11

by spillz » Wed Feb 19, 2014 23:52

stu wrote:New build: Minetest-debug.apk

Incorporated some updates from the freeminer android branch

Fixed lighting and some UI improvements (still needs some work with this stupid keyboard issue)





Good stuff. Can now get the "escape menu" on the Galaxy Note 2, which is nice. Got crash on exit though. I think I bought up the chat menu but not sure how and no keyboard.

Still have issue that screen needs new touch input to maintain an interaction (e.g. walking, punching). E.g. punching stops unless I move my finger a little as I do it.
 

User avatar
stu
Member
 
Posts: 737
Joined: Sat Feb 02, 2013 02:51
GitHub: stujones11

by stu » Thu Feb 20, 2014 00:53

spillz wrote:Got crash on exit though.

I do too, seems to have something to do with server disconnection.

spillz wrote:I think I bought up the chat menu but not sure how and no keyboard.

I am guessing that you can't see the chat bubble in the upper right corner of your screen?
If not then delete your current sdcard/minetest dir and run the app again.
Note that it will take longer to load and you will lose any settings.

If you wanted, however, you could simply copy in the missing cpad image ;-)
Last edited by stu on Thu Feb 20, 2014 00:54, edited 1 time in total.
 

User avatar
stormchaser3000
Member
 
Posts: 407
Joined: Sun Oct 06, 2013 21:02

by stormchaser3000 » Thu Feb 20, 2014 02:21

crashes instantly
 

User avatar
stu
Member
 
Posts: 737
Joined: Sat Feb 02, 2013 02:51
GitHub: stujones11

by stu » Thu Feb 20, 2014 22:16

stormchaser3000 wrote:crashes instantly

Without any debug info I can only guess that you have the same problem as VanessaE, I will look into this some more over the weekend.

Meanwhile, in the latest build, I have gone back to the original short-tap for right click / placement, though I think we do still need to have a button for left click / digging. I am mostly thinking of FPS mods like firearms but I'm sure there will be other cases where long press digging will be problematic.
 

User avatar
stormchaser3000
Member
 
Posts: 407
Joined: Sun Oct 06, 2013 21:02

by stormchaser3000 » Fri Feb 21, 2014 00:03

stu wrote:
stormchaser3000 wrote:crashes instantly

Without any debug info I can only guess that you have the same problem as VanessaE, I will look into this some more over the weekend.

Meanwhile, in the latest build, I have gone back to the original short-tap for right click / placement, though I think we do still need to have a button for left click / digging. I am mostly thinking of FPS mods like firearms but I'm sure there will be other cases where long press digging will be problematic.


ok um then how on earth do i run minetest with the adb logcat command
 

User avatar
stu
Member
 
Posts: 737
Joined: Sat Feb 02, 2013 02:51
GitHub: stujones11

by stu » Mon Feb 24, 2014 22:12

Updated

I've added some buttons for freemove, drop and debug info (F5), their visibility can be toggled using the 'double ellipsis' button in the bottom right corner.

Image

Unfortunately, without proper debugging, this is as about as far as I can take this for now. I hope that we can get an official repo sometime soon where I can just submit PR's and report issues.

If any of my humble additions can be of any use to an official release, licencing is as follows.

Source code: Same as Minetest
Textures: CC-BY-SA (All 100% my own work)
Last edited by stu on Wed Feb 26, 2014 00:00, edited 1 time in total.
 

User avatar
philipbenr
Member
 
Posts: 1665
Joined: Fri Jun 14, 2013 01:56
GitHub: philipbenr
IRC: philipbenr
In-game: WisdomFire or philipbenr

by philipbenr » Tue Feb 25, 2014 01:22

stu wrote:Updated

I've added some buttons for freemove, drop and debug info (F5), their visibility can be toggled using the 'double ellipsis' button in the bottom right corner.

http://i.imgur.com/ijt5U8a.png

Unfortunately, without proper debugging, this is as about as far as I can take this for now. I hope that we can get an official repo sometime soon where I can just submit PR's and report issues.

If any of my humble additions can be of any use to an official release, licencing is as follows.

Source code: Same as Minetest
Textures: CC-BY-SA (All 100% my own work)


This is really great work stu! I have a feeling you really made Minetest portable possible much earlier than most people expected. I hope this will flourish. ;) +1
"The Foot is down!"
 

User avatar
stormchaser3000
Member
 
Posts: 407
Joined: Sun Oct 06, 2013 21:02

by stormchaser3000 » Tue Feb 25, 2014 02:37

resay: ok um then how on earth do i run minetest with the adb logcat command
 

spillz
Member
 
Posts: 138
Joined: Thu Feb 13, 2014 05:11

by spillz » Tue Feb 25, 2014 03:12

stormchaser3000 wrote:resay: ok um then how on earth do i run minetest with the adb logcat command


To get adb you need to fully install android SDK on your PC - Google it.. adb is one of the command line tools in the SDK and you can use it to talk to the phone/tablet via USB (after enabling developer options and USB debugging in your phone settings - Google it). When you run adb logcat you will see on your PC the live debug messages being generated on your phone (or you can dump the output to a file). So you can run logcat on your PC then start Minetest on the phone/tablet and you should get a dump of minetest debug messages and any crash messages.
Last edited by spillz on Tue Feb 25, 2014 03:36, edited 1 time in total.
 

Martin_Devil
Member
 
Posts: 190
Joined: Sat Apr 06, 2013 11:58
GitHub: MoNTE48
In-game: MoNTE48

by Martin_Devil » Tue Feb 25, 2014 07:21

Hi guys! I found a few bugs.
* does not load the list of public servers and mods;
* 't save settings;
* how to fly?
* I wanted to add your own textures, but they are not unpacked. I thought, you can write java script unpacking/scanning of files, then running the game. It would be easier and the progress bar is needed!
* languages. The game in English, regardless of the system language.
MultiCraft Open Sourse Project – https://github.com/multicraftproject
 

User avatar
sfan5
Member
 
Posts: 3636
Joined: Wed Aug 24, 2011 09:44
GitHub: sfan5
IRC: sfan5

by sfan5 » Tue Feb 25, 2014 12:58

Martin_Devil wrote:* does not load the list of public servers and mods;

stu needs to compile with CURL support
Martin_Devil wrote:* languages. The game in English, regardless of the system language.

stu needs to compile with GETTEXT support, additionally there needs to be code to set the ui language to the system language.
Mods: Mesecons | WorldEdit | Nuke
Minetest builds for Windows (32-bit & 64-bit)
 

Martin_Devil
Member
 
Posts: 190
Joined: Sat Apr 06, 2013 11:58
GitHub: MoNTE48
In-game: MoNTE48

by Martin_Devil » Tue Feb 25, 2014 15:12

You can compile Minetest to meet these requirements?
MultiCraft Open Sourse Project – https://github.com/multicraftproject
 

User avatar
stu
Member
 
Posts: 737
Joined: Sat Feb 02, 2013 02:51
GitHub: stujones11

by stu » Tue Feb 25, 2014 22:45

philipbenr wrote:This is really great work stu! I have a feeling you really made Minetest portable possible much earlier than most people expected. I hope this will flourish. ;) +1

Thanks, though the real credit should go to xyz, all I've really done is add a few icons and make an apk.
sfan5 wrote:
Martin_Devil wrote:* does not load the list of public servers and mods;

stu needs to compile with CURL support
Martin_Devil wrote:* languages. The game in English, regardless of the system language.

stu needs to compile with GETTEXT support, additionally there needs to be code to set the ui language to the system language.

While I can get it to build fine with cURL support, it crashes the moment I try to show the public server list.

LogCat output is not really helpful to me https://gist.github.com/stujones11/9219104

regarding GETTEXT, I am not sure that is even possible?
 

Sokomine
Member
 
Posts: 2980
Joined: Sun Sep 09, 2012 17:31

by Sokomine » Wed Feb 26, 2014 05:04

stu wrote:I've added some buttons for freemove, drop and debug info (F5), their visibility can be toggled using the 'double ellipsis' button in the bottom right corner.

A new binary would be great! Compiling for Android isn't that easy...
A list of my mods can be found here.
 

User avatar
sfan5
Member
 
Posts: 3636
Joined: Wed Aug 24, 2011 09:44
GitHub: sfan5
IRC: sfan5

by sfan5 » Wed Feb 26, 2014 06:30

stu wrote:regarding GETTEXT, I am not sure that is even possible?

Why wouldn't gettext support be possible?
Mods: Mesecons | WorldEdit | Nuke
Minetest builds for Windows (32-bit & 64-bit)
 

Martin_Devil
Member
 
Posts: 190
Joined: Sat Apr 06, 2013 11:58
GitHub: MoNTE48
In-game: MoNTE48

by Martin_Devil » Wed Feb 26, 2014 10:54

Guys. More like this: I have collected apk, enjoyed. Then did update (texture, fashion, etc.) install. But folder minetest not refreshed! Need to implement checks. By file size, file, or create ver.txt. Then compare the number, and if version apk higher than on the phone - update "
MultiCraft Open Sourse Project – https://github.com/multicraftproject
 

User avatar
stu
Member
 
Posts: 737
Joined: Sat Feb 02, 2013 02:51
GitHub: stujones11

by stu » Wed Feb 26, 2014 20:15

sfan5 wrote:
stu wrote:regarding GETTEXT, I am not sure that is even possible?

Why wouldn't gettext support be possible?


I dunno but this was the first result I got with google: https://groups.google.com/forum/#!topic/android-ndk/_9ASoEfsI5I
Is it possible?

Martin_Devil wrote:Guys. More like this: I have collected apk, enjoyed. Then did update (texture, fashion, etc.) install. But folder minetest not refreshed! Need to implement checks. By file size, file, or create ver.txt. Then compare the number, and if version apk higher than on the phone - update "


Yes, I agree that something like that is needed in future but for now it is easiest to just delete your current minetest directory and let the apk rebuild it.

Sokomine wrote:A new binary would be great! Compiling for Android isn't that easy...

I have kept the binary reasonably up-to-date with the repo, perhaps you are not seeing the new images for the reasons mentioned above.
 

User avatar
sfan5
Member
 
Posts: 3636
Joined: Wed Aug 24, 2011 09:44
GitHub: sfan5
IRC: sfan5

by sfan5 » Wed Feb 26, 2014 20:27

stu wrote:
sfan5 wrote:
stu wrote:regarding GETTEXT, I am not sure that is even possible?

Why wouldn't gettext support be possible?


I dunno but this was the first result I got with google: https://groups.google.com/forum/#!topic/android-ndk/_9ASoEfsI5I
Is it possible?

You just need to build gettext for android and pass it to CMake.
There is no need to google anything.
Mods: Mesecons | WorldEdit | Nuke
Minetest builds for Windows (32-bit & 64-bit)
 

Sokomine
Member
 
Posts: 2980
Joined: Sun Sep 09, 2012 17:31

by Sokomine » Wed Feb 26, 2014 20:51

stu wrote:I have kept the binary reasonably up-to-date with the repo, perhaps you are not seeing the new images for the reasons mentioned above.

Maybe I'm blind :-) I can't find the binary. Can you give me a link?
A list of my mods can be found here.
 

User avatar
stu
Member
 
Posts: 737
Joined: Sat Feb 02, 2013 02:51
GitHub: stujones11

by stu » Wed Feb 26, 2014 21:40

sfan5 wrote:
stu wrote:
sfan5 wrote:Why wouldn't gettext support be possible?


I dunno but this was the first result I got with google: https://groups.google.com/forum/#!topic/android-ndk/_9ASoEfsI5I
Is it possible?

You just need to build gettext for android and pass it to CMake.
There is no need to google anything.

I usually google for things I am unsure of, I have never even used GETTEXT for a pc build, translation not being something I have ever required.
I will try as you suggest, thanks.

Sokomine wrote:
stu wrote:I have kept the binary reasonably up-to-date with the repo, perhaps you are not seeing the new images for the reasons mentioned above.

Maybe I'm blind :-) I can't find the binary. Can you give me a link?


debug.apk I've also put a link in the top post for future reference ;-)
Last edited by stu on Wed Feb 26, 2014 21:41, edited 1 time in total.
 

Sokomine
Member
 
Posts: 2980
Joined: Sun Sep 09, 2012 17:31

by Sokomine » Wed Feb 26, 2014 22:11

Thank you :-)
A list of my mods can be found here.
 

User avatar
Jordach
Member
 
Posts: 4412
Joined: Mon Oct 03, 2011 17:58
GitHub: Jordach
IRC: Jordach
In-game: Jordach

by Jordach » Thu Feb 27, 2014 07:46

Stu, is it possible for the chat text to not cover the chatbox, as the keyboard does not appear automatically. Because of this, when there is frequent chat, it is literally impossible to talk.

Second note, my tablet gets! 25+ fps. With ALL the settings.

( ͡° ͜ʖ ͡°) ( ͡o ͜ʖ ͡o) [$ ( ͡° ͜ʖ ͡°) $] ( ͡$ ͜ʖ ͡$) ヽ༼ຈل͜ຈ༽ノ



My image and media server is back online and is functioning as normal.
 

Martin_Devil
Member
 
Posts: 190
Joined: Sat Apr 06, 2013 11:58
GitHub: MoNTE48
In-game: MoNTE48

by Martin_Devil » Thu Feb 27, 2014 16:10

New build don't work on my phone, Android 4.0.4. Problem in libs!
MultiCraft Open Sourse Project – https://github.com/multicraftproject
 

User avatar
Jordach
Member
 
Posts: 4412
Joined: Mon Oct 03, 2011 17:58
GitHub: Jordach
IRC: Jordach
In-game: Jordach

by Jordach » Thu Feb 27, 2014 17:22

Martin_Devil wrote:New build don't work on my phone, Android 4.0.4. Problem in libs!
UM, my tablet runs 4.0.4, you sure there's something wrong?

( ͡° ͜ʖ ͡°) ( ͡o ͜ʖ ͡o) [$ ( ͡° ͜ʖ ͡°) $] ( ͡$ ͜ʖ ͡$) ヽ༼ຈل͜ຈ༽ノ



My image and media server is back online and is functioning as normal.
 

User avatar
stu
Member
 
Posts: 737
Joined: Sat Feb 02, 2013 02:51
GitHub: stujones11

by stu » Thu Feb 27, 2014 19:47

Jordach wrote:Stu, is it possible for the chat text to not cover the chatbox, as the keyboard does not appear automatically. Because of this, when there is frequent chat, it is literally impossible to talk.


I have reduced the size and moved it sown slightly, see if that is any better for you.
It seems ok on my tablet but it may not be enough for some wider aspect screens.

Martin_Devil wrote:New build don't work on my phone, Android 4.0.4. Problem in libs!


I have not changed any libs but there _may_ have been some leftover remains of my attempted cURL build
The latest build should definitely be clean.
Last edited by stu on Thu Feb 27, 2014 19:48, edited 1 time in total.
 

User avatar
Jordach
Member
 
Posts: 4412
Joined: Mon Oct 03, 2011 17:58
GitHub: Jordach
IRC: Jordach
In-game: Jordach

by Jordach » Thu Feb 27, 2014 21:32

App forcecloses when exiting to menu from multiplayer.

I can actually chat when playing the game now, esp. on busy servers. But with debug up, it's still not possible to.

However, this is a very fluid experience on my end, you've earned my seal of approval.

I've also discovered that when a keyboard / mouse (or both are in use,) minetest acts like it is on a normal pc.

( ͡° ͜ʖ ͡°) ( ͡o ͜ʖ ͡o) [$ ( ͡° ͜ʖ ͡°) $] ( ͡$ ͜ʖ ͡$) ヽ༼ຈل͜ຈ༽ノ



My image and media server is back online and is functioning as normal.
 

User avatar
stu
Member
 
Posts: 737
Joined: Sat Feb 02, 2013 02:51
GitHub: stujones11

by stu » Thu Feb 27, 2014 23:20

Jordach wrote:App forcecloses when exiting to menu from multiplayer.

I can actually chat when playing the game now, esp. on busy servers. But with debug up, it's still not possible to.

However, this is a very fluid experience on my end, you've earned my seal of approval..


Thanks Jordach, I am finding it quite playable now too, though I am aware of the exit game crash, I'm just not getting enough debug info to trace it atm.
I've mostly been concentrating on perfecting the touchscreen gui for a more intuitive experience.
This is a very subjective thing, so it is good to know that other people like it too.

Jordach wrote:I've also discovered that when a keyboard / mouse (or both are in use,) minetest acts like it is on a normal pc.

Also good to know, though I guess there is no reason why it would not, I had not tried that.
 

spillz
Member
 
Posts: 138
Joined: Thu Feb 13, 2014 05:11

by spillz » Fri Feb 28, 2014 00:37

Re playable, how do you guys do a moving jump? Thumb mash or awkwardly move your other hand across? Would like to have auto jump or option to move jump button to right side of screen.
 

Martin_Devil
Member
 
Posts: 190
Joined: Sat Apr 06, 2013 11:58
GitHub: MoNTE48
In-game: MoNTE48

by Martin_Devil » Fri Feb 28, 2014 08:19

Agreed. Very inconvenient to go and jump at the same time! Just do not pull out.
MultiCraft Open Sourse Project – https://github.com/multicraftproject
 

PreviousNext

Return to Minetest Engine

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 22 guests

cron