Page 5 of 19

PostPosted: Mon Jan 21, 2013 19:10
by VanessaE
Ok, everything is documented now except the deployer - I don't understand how it works. :-)

PostPosted: Mon Jan 21, 2013 19:14
by jojoa1997
VanessaE wrote:Ok, everything is documented now except the deployer - I don't understand how it works. :-)

when something enters it the deployer shoots it out in front of it. like a garbage chute and making stuff go in lava

PostPosted: Mon Jan 21, 2013 19:52
by Nore
No, what the deployer does it that it does the same as a player right_clicking with the items in his inventory. So it will place blocks or items depending on what they are, or it will do the same as if you right_clicked the node if it does something.

The mese pipe will prevent any item from leaving through that direction when off (the blocks in the line don't change anything).

PostPosted: Mon Jan 21, 2013 20:25
by VanessaE
Ok, I get it now. I think I spotted a bug though - If the deployer is set to place a node such as sand or wood, it does not subtract it from its inventory. That is, if I put say 5 wood blocks into the deployer and instruct it to place one, there are still 5 in the deployer's inventory. This doesn't happen with craft items like a steel ingot.

Also, suggestion: Change the deployer's inventory to 5x2 or 4x2 spaces instead of 3x3 - it looks like a crafting grid right now :-)

Also, accessing the deployer's inventory is very slow compared to elsewhere.

PostPosted: Mon Jan 21, 2013 20:33
by Nore
That's strange, because I don't have that bug (just tested it, it works fine).

PostPosted: Mon Jan 21, 2013 20:39
by VanessaE
Odd. Is it possible that I didn't get some change you've made? I just re-checked my local copy and it's definitely up-to-date.

This screenshot from the first post shows how I've set up this device (for the sake of the screenshot, in fact):

Image

PostPosted: Tue Jan 22, 2013 05:44
by Nore
Just checked, mine is up-to-date too. What version of minetest are you using?

PostPosted: Tue Jan 22, 2013 05:56
by VanessaE
A few days old, but I've just updated to the very latest git of both minetest and minetest_game, checked again that my copy of pipeworks is up-to-date, double-checked that it is copied into my working install of the game, and tried again on a new map. It's still doing the same thing.

PostPosted: Tue Jan 22, 2013 17:18
by Nore
Ok, I downloaded the latest git and I saw the problem: in creative mode, the items are unlimited. The deployer reproduces this feature (although it is more a bug for it), because it acts as if the player called "deployer" had right-clicked. The only way to correct it I can now find it to change the line 144 of creative/init.lua with this:
Your phone or window isn't wide enough to display the code box. If it's a phone, try rotating it to landscape mode.
Code: Select all
        if placer:get_player_name()~="deployer" then
            return true
        end

PostPosted: Tue Jan 22, 2013 18:43
by jojoa1997
Nore wrote:Ok, I downloaded the latest git and I saw the problem: in creative mode, the items are unlimited. The deployer reproduces this feature (although it is more a bug for it), because it acts as if the player called "deployer" had right-clicked. The only way to correct it I can now find it to change the line 144 of creative/init.lua with this:
Your phone or window isn't wide enough to display the code box. If it's a phone, try rotating it to landscape mode.
Code: Select all
        if placer:get_player_name()~="deployer" then
            return true
        end
is this bug in unified_inventory

PostPosted: Tue Jan 22, 2013 19:21
by VanessaE
Indeed, this happens in the default creative mode. I didn't think to try it in survival mode. Jojoa1997: I doubt it; Unified Inventory doesn't implement infinite stacks.

PostPosted: Tue Jan 22, 2013 19:22
by Nore
Jojoa1997: No, it does not happen it Unified Inventory (that's why I didn't notice the bug).

PostPosted: Sun Jan 27, 2013 19:01
by VanessaE
2013-01-27: Tried to fix detection of latest version of technic mod. Limited the number of recipes affected by it - now only the tubes' recipes are disabled when technic is present. All pipe, pipe device, and tube device recipes are the ones found here at all times. Updated the plastic sheet crafting chain to match current homedecor since it was originally derived from that mod.

PostPosted: Sun Jan 27, 2013 20:42
by RealBadAngel
Nore wrote:Ok, I downloaded the latest git and I saw the problem: in creative mode, the items are unlimited. The deployer reproduces this feature (although it is more a bug for it), because it acts as if the player called "deployer" had right-clicked. The only way to correct it I can now find it to change the line 144 of creative/init.lua with this:
Your phone or window isn't wide enough to display the code box. If it's a phone, try rotating it to landscape mode.
Code: Select all
        if placer:get_player_name()~="deployer" then
            return true
        end


No, it just doesnt care of takin from its inventory the placed item. :)

PostPosted: Wed Jan 30, 2013 14:08
by BZab
Your phone or window isn't wide enough to display the code box. If it's a phone, try rotating it to landscape mode.
Code: Select all
17:07:35: ERROR[main]: ServerError: LuaError: error: /home/bzab/minetest/bin/../builtin/item.lua:236: attempt to call method 'get_player_control' (a nil value)
17:07:35: ERROR[main]: stack traceback:

Another bug with deployer (i use also technic)
Crashes when I try to use deployer
@Down, yeah ill try
@EDIT: updated

PostPosted: Wed Jan 30, 2013 14:50
by VanessaE
Can you post the full error message? Not just the one line.

PostPosted: Wed Jan 30, 2013 14:52
by RealBadAngel
BZab wrote:
Your phone or window isn't wide enough to display the code box. If it's a phone, try rotating it to landscape mode.
Code: Select all
/minetest/bin/.../builtin/item.lua:236 :
attempt to call method 'get_player_control' (a nil value)

Another bug with deployer (i use also technic)
Crashes when I try to use deployer


Theres no deployer in technic atm. Nore tried to merge it to pipeworks.
I will try to release properly workin deployer code today.

PostPosted: Thu Jan 31, 2013 14:30
by RealBadAngel
BZab wrote:So.. how to fix it?
Or is it unfixable?


cant you read?

PostPosted: Thu Jan 31, 2013 17:45
by Likwid H-Craft
Is the valve working at all?
Oh and I am making a pipe for this so you can use, it maybe for something hope on here.

PostPosted: Thu Jan 31, 2013 19:43
by VanessaE
The valve does not yet work. If you've got pipe-related ideas, I'd like to hear them :-)

PostPosted: Thu Jan 31, 2013 20:42
by BZab
Maybe pipes could also "transport" lava?

PostPosted: Thu Jan 31, 2013 21:03
by Mito551
BZab wrote:Maybe pipes could also "transport" lava?


and thus give heat? some sort of?

heat could be used to get some kind of energy...

PostPosted: Thu Jan 31, 2013 21:24
by RealBadAngel
Mito551 wrote:
BZab wrote:Maybe pipes could also "transport" lava?


and thus give heat? some sort of?

heat could be used to get some kind of energy...


good idea. i think i will use it in technic

PostPosted: Thu Jan 31, 2013 22:02
by BZab
RealBadAngel wrote:
Mito551 wrote:
BZab wrote:Maybe pipes could also "transport" lava?


and thus give heat? some sort of?

heat could be used to get some kind of energy...


good idea. i think i will use it in technic


It could also melt ice eg. in radius 2-3 cubes...
@Down: Dont ya mean sth like elevator... teleport but by the pipe? :D

PostPosted: Thu Jan 31, 2013 22:46
by Likwid H-Craft
What about a pipe like mario that make players wrap. but I don't think you can do that, well yet. but My main idea of a pipe is have a way make a dam so I am talking big pipes the size of the blocks it self(Normal Blocks).

Btw VanessaE this is just for you, for making Pipeworks, a very great mod! infact this should be on, 0.4.5 main game.
(Stand for: "◘" Pump ; "═══╦╗═══╬╝" Pipes ; "■" any block you like as)

◘═══╦╗
■═══╬╝

PostPosted: Thu Jan 31, 2013 23:00
by rarkenin
BZab wrote:
RealBadAngel wrote:
Mito551 wrote:
and thus give heat? some sort of?

heat could be used to get some kind of energy...


good idea. i think i will use it in technic


It could also melt ice eg. in radius 2-3 cubes...


And provide lighting...

PostPosted: Thu Jan 31, 2013 23:35
by RealBadAngel
rarkenin wrote:
BZab wrote:
RealBadAngel wrote:
good idea. i think i will use it in technic


It could also melt ice eg. in radius 2-3 cubes...


And provide lighting...


Cold beer and nice chicks for all too ;)

BTW Deployer is back again in Technic. It cannot be used anymore as duplicator.
But need to make it able to place only nodes. Anyway, it works now as intended.

PostPosted: Thu Jan 31, 2013 23:37
by VanessaE
First I need someone to patch pipeworks to be able to handle multiple fluids. Mauvebic has code that can do this but I don't understand how it works. Then we can talk about moving lava around. :-)

PostPosted: Thu Jan 31, 2013 23:54
by VanessaE
2013-01-31: Removed deployer and node breaker - these should be part of Technic only, not pipeworks, and the ones in that mod work fine now. Added aliases back to Technic's original versions. Moved related code into pipeworks/attic.

(Sorry, Nore... :-/ )

PostPosted: Fri Feb 01, 2013 00:07
by Likwid H-Craft
Hmm, I was thinking about edit the, code and, make a new pipeworks called, Heavy Duty Pipeworks if it fine, with you VanessaE.

Edit:First I will make a new pump and pipes. oh btw what, is the pipes textures file called, VanessaE?