[Mod] Pipeworks [20131128] [pipeworks]

User avatar
VanessaE
Member
 
Posts: 3894
Joined: Sun Apr 01, 2012 12:38
GitHub: VanessaE
IRC: VanessaE
In-game: VanessaEzekowitz

by VanessaE » Mon Jan 21, 2013 19:10

Ok, everything is documented now except the deployer - I don't understand how it works. :-)
You might like some of my stuff:
Plantlife ~ More Trees ~ Home Decor ~ Pipeworks ~ HDX Textures (16-512px)
Tips (BTC): 13LdcdUFcNCFAm7HfvAXh5GHTjCnnQj6KE
 

User avatar
jojoa1997
Member
 
Posts: 2890
Joined: Thu Dec 13, 2012 05:11

by jojoa1997 » Mon Jan 21, 2013 19:14

VanessaE wrote:Ok, everything is documented now except the deployer - I don't understand how it works. :-)

when something enters it the deployer shoots it out in front of it. like a garbage chute and making stuff go in lava
Coding;
1X coding
3X debugging
12X tweaking to be just right
 

Nore
Member
 
Posts: 468
Joined: Wed Nov 28, 2012 11:35
GitHub: Ekdohibs

by Nore » Mon Jan 21, 2013 19:52

No, what the deployer does it that it does the same as a player right_clicking with the items in his inventory. So it will place blocks or items depending on what they are, or it will do the same as if you right_clicked the node if it does something.

The mese pipe will prevent any item from leaving through that direction when off (the blocks in the line don't change anything).
 

User avatar
VanessaE
Member
 
Posts: 3894
Joined: Sun Apr 01, 2012 12:38
GitHub: VanessaE
IRC: VanessaE
In-game: VanessaEzekowitz

by VanessaE » Mon Jan 21, 2013 20:25

Ok, I get it now. I think I spotted a bug though - If the deployer is set to place a node such as sand or wood, it does not subtract it from its inventory. That is, if I put say 5 wood blocks into the deployer and instruct it to place one, there are still 5 in the deployer's inventory. This doesn't happen with craft items like a steel ingot.

Also, suggestion: Change the deployer's inventory to 5x2 or 4x2 spaces instead of 3x3 - it looks like a crafting grid right now :-)

Also, accessing the deployer's inventory is very slow compared to elsewhere.
You might like some of my stuff:
Plantlife ~ More Trees ~ Home Decor ~ Pipeworks ~ HDX Textures (16-512px)
Tips (BTC): 13LdcdUFcNCFAm7HfvAXh5GHTjCnnQj6KE
 

Nore
Member
 
Posts: 468
Joined: Wed Nov 28, 2012 11:35
GitHub: Ekdohibs

by Nore » Mon Jan 21, 2013 20:33

That's strange, because I don't have that bug (just tested it, it works fine).
 

User avatar
VanessaE
Member
 
Posts: 3894
Joined: Sun Apr 01, 2012 12:38
GitHub: VanessaE
IRC: VanessaE
In-game: VanessaEzekowitz

by VanessaE » Mon Jan 21, 2013 20:39

Odd. Is it possible that I didn't get some change you've made? I just re-checked my local copy and it's definitely up-to-date.

This screenshot from the first post shows how I've set up this device (for the sake of the screenshot, in fact):

Image
You might like some of my stuff:
Plantlife ~ More Trees ~ Home Decor ~ Pipeworks ~ HDX Textures (16-512px)
Tips (BTC): 13LdcdUFcNCFAm7HfvAXh5GHTjCnnQj6KE
 

Nore
Member
 
Posts: 468
Joined: Wed Nov 28, 2012 11:35
GitHub: Ekdohibs

by Nore » Tue Jan 22, 2013 05:44

Just checked, mine is up-to-date too. What version of minetest are you using?
 

User avatar
VanessaE
Member
 
Posts: 3894
Joined: Sun Apr 01, 2012 12:38
GitHub: VanessaE
IRC: VanessaE
In-game: VanessaEzekowitz

by VanessaE » Tue Jan 22, 2013 05:56

A few days old, but I've just updated to the very latest git of both minetest and minetest_game, checked again that my copy of pipeworks is up-to-date, double-checked that it is copied into my working install of the game, and tried again on a new map. It's still doing the same thing.
You might like some of my stuff:
Plantlife ~ More Trees ~ Home Decor ~ Pipeworks ~ HDX Textures (16-512px)
Tips (BTC): 13LdcdUFcNCFAm7HfvAXh5GHTjCnnQj6KE
 

Nore
Member
 
Posts: 468
Joined: Wed Nov 28, 2012 11:35
GitHub: Ekdohibs

by Nore » Tue Jan 22, 2013 17:18

Ok, I downloaded the latest git and I saw the problem: in creative mode, the items are unlimited. The deployer reproduces this feature (although it is more a bug for it), because it acts as if the player called "deployer" had right-clicked. The only way to correct it I can now find it to change the line 144 of creative/init.lua with this:
Your phone or window isn't wide enough to display the code box. If it's a phone, try rotating it to landscape mode.
Code: Select all
        if placer:get_player_name()~="deployer" then
            return true
        end
 

User avatar
jojoa1997
Member
 
Posts: 2890
Joined: Thu Dec 13, 2012 05:11

by jojoa1997 » Tue Jan 22, 2013 18:43

Nore wrote:Ok, I downloaded the latest git and I saw the problem: in creative mode, the items are unlimited. The deployer reproduces this feature (although it is more a bug for it), because it acts as if the player called "deployer" had right-clicked. The only way to correct it I can now find it to change the line 144 of creative/init.lua with this:
Your phone or window isn't wide enough to display the code box. If it's a phone, try rotating it to landscape mode.
Code: Select all
        if placer:get_player_name()~="deployer" then
            return true
        end
is this bug in unified_inventory
Coding;
1X coding
3X debugging
12X tweaking to be just right
 

User avatar
VanessaE
Member
 
Posts: 3894
Joined: Sun Apr 01, 2012 12:38
GitHub: VanessaE
IRC: VanessaE
In-game: VanessaEzekowitz

by VanessaE » Tue Jan 22, 2013 19:21

Indeed, this happens in the default creative mode. I didn't think to try it in survival mode. Jojoa1997: I doubt it; Unified Inventory doesn't implement infinite stacks.
You might like some of my stuff:
Plantlife ~ More Trees ~ Home Decor ~ Pipeworks ~ HDX Textures (16-512px)
Tips (BTC): 13LdcdUFcNCFAm7HfvAXh5GHTjCnnQj6KE
 

Nore
Member
 
Posts: 468
Joined: Wed Nov 28, 2012 11:35
GitHub: Ekdohibs

by Nore » Tue Jan 22, 2013 19:22

Jojoa1997: No, it does not happen it Unified Inventory (that's why I didn't notice the bug).
 

User avatar
VanessaE
Member
 
Posts: 3894
Joined: Sun Apr 01, 2012 12:38
GitHub: VanessaE
IRC: VanessaE
In-game: VanessaEzekowitz

by VanessaE » Sun Jan 27, 2013 19:01

2013-01-27: Tried to fix detection of latest version of technic mod. Limited the number of recipes affected by it - now only the tubes' recipes are disabled when technic is present. All pipe, pipe device, and tube device recipes are the ones found here at all times. Updated the plastic sheet crafting chain to match current homedecor since it was originally derived from that mod.
You might like some of my stuff:
Plantlife ~ More Trees ~ Home Decor ~ Pipeworks ~ HDX Textures (16-512px)
Tips (BTC): 13LdcdUFcNCFAm7HfvAXh5GHTjCnnQj6KE
 

User avatar
RealBadAngel
Member
 
Posts: 556
Joined: Wed Jul 18, 2012 16:30

by RealBadAngel » Sun Jan 27, 2013 20:42

Nore wrote:Ok, I downloaded the latest git and I saw the problem: in creative mode, the items are unlimited. The deployer reproduces this feature (although it is more a bug for it), because it acts as if the player called "deployer" had right-clicked. The only way to correct it I can now find it to change the line 144 of creative/init.lua with this:
Your phone or window isn't wide enough to display the code box. If it's a phone, try rotating it to landscape mode.
Code: Select all
        if placer:get_player_name()~="deployer" then
            return true
        end


No, it just doesnt care of takin from its inventory the placed item. :)
 

BZab
Member
 
Posts: 126
Joined: Mon Jan 28, 2013 10:04

by BZab » Wed Jan 30, 2013 14:08

Your phone or window isn't wide enough to display the code box. If it's a phone, try rotating it to landscape mode.
Code: Select all
17:07:35: ERROR[main]: ServerError: LuaError: error: /home/bzab/minetest/bin/../builtin/item.lua:236: attempt to call method 'get_player_control' (a nil value)
17:07:35: ERROR[main]: stack traceback:

Another bug with deployer (i use also technic)
Crashes when I try to use deployer
@Down, yeah ill try
@EDIT: updated
Last edited by BZab on Wed Jan 30, 2013 16:08, edited 1 time in total.
 

User avatar
VanessaE
Member
 
Posts: 3894
Joined: Sun Apr 01, 2012 12:38
GitHub: VanessaE
IRC: VanessaE
In-game: VanessaEzekowitz

by VanessaE » Wed Jan 30, 2013 14:50

Can you post the full error message? Not just the one line.
You might like some of my stuff:
Plantlife ~ More Trees ~ Home Decor ~ Pipeworks ~ HDX Textures (16-512px)
Tips (BTC): 13LdcdUFcNCFAm7HfvAXh5GHTjCnnQj6KE
 

User avatar
RealBadAngel
Member
 
Posts: 556
Joined: Wed Jul 18, 2012 16:30

by RealBadAngel » Wed Jan 30, 2013 14:52

BZab wrote:
Your phone or window isn't wide enough to display the code box. If it's a phone, try rotating it to landscape mode.
Code: Select all
/minetest/bin/.../builtin/item.lua:236 :
attempt to call method 'get_player_control' (a nil value)

Another bug with deployer (i use also technic)
Crashes when I try to use deployer


Theres no deployer in technic atm. Nore tried to merge it to pipeworks.
I will try to release properly workin deployer code today.
 

User avatar
RealBadAngel
Member
 
Posts: 556
Joined: Wed Jul 18, 2012 16:30

by RealBadAngel » Thu Jan 31, 2013 14:30

BZab wrote:So.. how to fix it?
Or is it unfixable?


cant you read?
 

User avatar
Likwid H-Craft
Member
 
Posts: 1113
Joined: Sun Jan 06, 2013 14:20

by Likwid H-Craft » Thu Jan 31, 2013 17:45

Is the valve working at all?
Oh and I am making a pipe for this so you can use, it maybe for something hope on here.
My Domain's/others:
http://likwidtest.hj.cx/ (Not Done)
 

User avatar
VanessaE
Member
 
Posts: 3894
Joined: Sun Apr 01, 2012 12:38
GitHub: VanessaE
IRC: VanessaE
In-game: VanessaEzekowitz

by VanessaE » Thu Jan 31, 2013 19:43

The valve does not yet work. If you've got pipe-related ideas, I'd like to hear them :-)
You might like some of my stuff:
Plantlife ~ More Trees ~ Home Decor ~ Pipeworks ~ HDX Textures (16-512px)
Tips (BTC): 13LdcdUFcNCFAm7HfvAXh5GHTjCnnQj6KE
 

BZab
Member
 
Posts: 126
Joined: Mon Jan 28, 2013 10:04

by BZab » Thu Jan 31, 2013 20:42

Maybe pipes could also "transport" lava?
 

User avatar
Mito551
Member
 
Posts: 1271
Joined: Sat Jun 16, 2012 15:03

by Mito551 » Thu Jan 31, 2013 21:03

BZab wrote:Maybe pipes could also "transport" lava?


and thus give heat? some sort of?

heat could be used to get some kind of energy...
Last edited by Mito551 on Thu Jan 31, 2013 21:04, edited 1 time in total.
 

User avatar
RealBadAngel
Member
 
Posts: 556
Joined: Wed Jul 18, 2012 16:30

by RealBadAngel » Thu Jan 31, 2013 21:24

Mito551 wrote:
BZab wrote:Maybe pipes could also "transport" lava?


and thus give heat? some sort of?

heat could be used to get some kind of energy...


good idea. i think i will use it in technic
 

BZab
Member
 
Posts: 126
Joined: Mon Jan 28, 2013 10:04

by BZab » Thu Jan 31, 2013 22:02

RealBadAngel wrote:
Mito551 wrote:
BZab wrote:Maybe pipes could also "transport" lava?


and thus give heat? some sort of?

heat could be used to get some kind of energy...


good idea. i think i will use it in technic


It could also melt ice eg. in radius 2-3 cubes...
@Down: Dont ya mean sth like elevator... teleport but by the pipe? :D
Last edited by BZab on Thu Jan 31, 2013 23:18, edited 1 time in total.
 

User avatar
Likwid H-Craft
Member
 
Posts: 1113
Joined: Sun Jan 06, 2013 14:20

by Likwid H-Craft » Thu Jan 31, 2013 22:46

What about a pipe like mario that make players wrap. but I don't think you can do that, well yet. but My main idea of a pipe is have a way make a dam so I am talking big pipes the size of the blocks it self(Normal Blocks).

Btw VanessaE this is just for you, for making Pipeworks, a very great mod! infact this should be on, 0.4.5 main game.
(Stand for: "◘" Pump ; "═══╦╗═══╬╝" Pipes ; "■" any block you like as)

◘═══╦╗
■═══╬╝
My Domain's/others:
http://likwidtest.hj.cx/ (Not Done)
 

rarkenin
Member
 
Posts: 668
Joined: Tue Nov 20, 2012 20:48

by rarkenin » Thu Jan 31, 2013 23:00

BZab wrote:
RealBadAngel wrote:
Mito551 wrote:
and thus give heat? some sort of?

heat could be used to get some kind of energy...


good idea. i think i will use it in technic


It could also melt ice eg. in radius 2-3 cubes...


And provide lighting...
Admin pro tempore on 0gb.us:30000. Ask me if you have a problem, or just want help.
This is a signature virus. Add me to your signature so that I can multiply.
Now working on my own clone, Mosstest.
I guess I'm back for some time.
 

User avatar
RealBadAngel
Member
 
Posts: 556
Joined: Wed Jul 18, 2012 16:30

by RealBadAngel » Thu Jan 31, 2013 23:35

rarkenin wrote:
BZab wrote:
RealBadAngel wrote:
good idea. i think i will use it in technic


It could also melt ice eg. in radius 2-3 cubes...


And provide lighting...


Cold beer and nice chicks for all too ;)

BTW Deployer is back again in Technic. It cannot be used anymore as duplicator.
But need to make it able to place only nodes. Anyway, it works now as intended.
Last edited by RealBadAngel on Thu Jan 31, 2013 23:37, edited 1 time in total.
 

User avatar
VanessaE
Member
 
Posts: 3894
Joined: Sun Apr 01, 2012 12:38
GitHub: VanessaE
IRC: VanessaE
In-game: VanessaEzekowitz

by VanessaE » Thu Jan 31, 2013 23:37

First I need someone to patch pipeworks to be able to handle multiple fluids. Mauvebic has code that can do this but I don't understand how it works. Then we can talk about moving lava around. :-)
You might like some of my stuff:
Plantlife ~ More Trees ~ Home Decor ~ Pipeworks ~ HDX Textures (16-512px)
Tips (BTC): 13LdcdUFcNCFAm7HfvAXh5GHTjCnnQj6KE
 

User avatar
VanessaE
Member
 
Posts: 3894
Joined: Sun Apr 01, 2012 12:38
GitHub: VanessaE
IRC: VanessaE
In-game: VanessaEzekowitz

by VanessaE » Thu Jan 31, 2013 23:54

2013-01-31: Removed deployer and node breaker - these should be part of Technic only, not pipeworks, and the ones in that mod work fine now. Added aliases back to Technic's original versions. Moved related code into pipeworks/attic.

(Sorry, Nore... :-/ )
You might like some of my stuff:
Plantlife ~ More Trees ~ Home Decor ~ Pipeworks ~ HDX Textures (16-512px)
Tips (BTC): 13LdcdUFcNCFAm7HfvAXh5GHTjCnnQj6KE
 

User avatar
Likwid H-Craft
Member
 
Posts: 1113
Joined: Sun Jan 06, 2013 14:20

by Likwid H-Craft » Fri Feb 01, 2013 00:07

Hmm, I was thinking about edit the, code and, make a new pipeworks called, Heavy Duty Pipeworks if it fine, with you VanessaE.

Edit:First I will make a new pump and pipes. oh btw what, is the pipes textures file called, VanessaE?
Last edited by Likwid H-Craft on Fri Feb 01, 2013 00:16, edited 1 time in total.
My Domain's/others:
http://likwidtest.hj.cx/ (Not Done)
 

PreviousNext

Return to Mod Releases

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 63 guests

cron