[Modpack] 3D Armor [0.4.8] [minetest-3d_armor]

User avatar
jojoa1997
Member
 
Posts: 2890
Joined: Thu Dec 13, 2012 05:11

by jojoa1997 » Sun Apr 14, 2013 18:34

I will be using everything but the extra armor one. And sure. though a suggestion for the armors is wrap it in a function. When i realease minitest 1.2 look at your mod
Coding;
1X coding
3X debugging
12X tweaking to be just right
 

User avatar
addi
Member
 
Posts: 605
Joined: Thu Sep 20, 2012 03:16

by addi » Wed Apr 17, 2013 15:48

it seams there is a bug with crafting the wood and iron stuff, mithrill armor does work :)

instead of the registered item 3d_armor:helmet_iron

ill get the inknown item :
Your phone or window isn't wide enough to display the code box. If it's a phone, try rotating it to landscape mode.
Code: Select all
17:41:48: ACTION[ServerThread]: player addi crafts 3d_armor:helmet_2
 

User avatar
stu
Member
 
Posts: 737
Joined: Sat Feb 02, 2013 02:51
GitHub: stujones11

by stu » Wed Apr 17, 2013 18:09

addi wrote:it seams there is a bug with crafting the wood and iron stuff, mithrill armor does work :)

instead of the registered item 3d_armor:helmet_iron

ill get the inknown item :
Your phone or window isn't wide enough to display the code box. If it's a phone, try rotating it to landscape mode.
Code: Select all
17:41:48: ACTION[ServerThread]: player addi crafts 3d_armor:helmet_2


Thank you for bringing this to my attention, it was a silly mistake and is now corrected in the current git.

Mod updated!
 

User avatar
jojoa1997
Member
 
Posts: 2890
Joined: Thu Dec 13, 2012 05:11

by jojoa1997 » Thu Apr 18, 2013 02:22

Uh weildview makes the players look weird. i think you messed up with the player model. Maybe have the mod make the user hold an entity which is what the weild item is.
Coding;
1X coding
3X debugging
12X tweaking to be just right
 

User avatar
stu
Member
 
Posts: 737
Joined: Sat Feb 02, 2013 02:51
GitHub: stujones11

by stu » Thu Apr 18, 2013 17:50

jojoa1997 wrote:Uh weildview makes the players look weird. i think you messed up with the player model. Maybe have the mod make the user hold an entity which is what the weild item is.

That can happen if you try to weild a non 16x16px textured item. You can still handle other texture sizes so long as you keep the item's inventory_image at 16x16px.

If this is not the case then please try to explain what you mean by weird. Using entities may be possible but making them animate in sync with the player model would be lot of work to do in lua. From what I have experienced entity attachment tends to be jerky and often lags.

The ideal solution (imo) would be to have the player model support multiple uv images. That way the wielded item would be a separate texture from the player. Another thing that would be useful is a texture resizing ^[modifier (cubic interpolation)
Last edited by stu on Thu Apr 18, 2013 18:09, edited 1 time in total.
 

User avatar
Traxie21
Member
 
Posts: 753
Joined: Mon Dec 31, 2012 10:48

by Traxie21 » Thu Apr 18, 2013 18:45

At the moment, even while holding a 16x16 item, the player model is squashed and mitextured.
 

User avatar
jojoa1997
Member
 
Posts: 2890
Joined: Thu Dec 13, 2012 05:11

by jojoa1997 » Thu Apr 18, 2013 19:18

stu wrote:
jojoa1997 wrote:Uh weildview makes the players look weird. i think you messed up with the player model. Maybe have the mod make the user hold an entity which is what the weild item is.

That can happen if you try to weild a non 16x16px textured item. You can still handle other texture sizes so long as you keep the item's inventory_image at 16x16px.

If this is not the case then please try to explain what you mean by weird. Using entities may be possible but making them animate in sync with the player model would be lot of work to do in lua. From what I have experienced entity attachment tends to be jerky and often lags.

The ideal solution (imo) would be to have the player model support multiple uv images. That way the wielded item would be a separate texture from the player. Another thing that would be useful is a texture resizing ^[modifier (cubic interpolation)
Go on traxies server and look at others. Traxie keep the weilditem mod on there
Coding;
1X coding
3X debugging
12X tweaking to be just right
 

User avatar
Traxie21
Member
 
Posts: 753
Joined: Mon Dec 31, 2012 10:48

by Traxie21 » Thu Apr 18, 2013 19:19

Just removed it :I
 

User avatar
stu
Member
 
Posts: 737
Joined: Sat Feb 02, 2013 02:51
GitHub: stujones11

by stu » Thu Apr 18, 2013 19:47

Traxie21 wrote:At the moment, even while holding a 16x16 item, the player model is squashed and mitextured.

What resolution is your player's skin? Using a non 64x32px skin will also cause problems, that goes for armor too! If that's not it then it could be a conflict with some other mod. Something that alters scale or player texture, perhaps?

It works fine for me with all the default textures I can think of, unless i can see the problem or know the specific textures that cause the problem, there is not much I can do.

Edit: btw, what minetest version are you running there? I have not updated my dev version for a few days now.
--Will Rebuild
Last edited by stu on Thu Apr 18, 2013 20:12, edited 1 time in total.
 

User avatar
Traxie21
Member
 
Posts: 753
Joined: Mon Dec 31, 2012 10:48

by Traxie21 » Thu Apr 18, 2013 20:14

Using 0.4.6-latest git, and the skin is 64x32
 

User avatar
jojoa1997
Member
 
Posts: 2890
Joined: Thu Dec 13, 2012 05:11

by jojoa1997 » Thu Apr 18, 2013 20:39

I think it is a problem between having 2 different models being used
Coding;
1X coding
3X debugging
12X tweaking to be just right
 

User avatar
stu
Member
 
Posts: 737
Joined: Sat Feb 02, 2013 02:51
GitHub: stujones11

by stu » Thu Apr 18, 2013 20:53

Traxie21 wrote:Using 0.4.6-latest git, and the skin is 64x32

Ok, I have just compiled the latest git and it still seems to be working fine here. I will have to take a look at your mod list and see if I can figure out what could be conflicting.

jojoa1997 wrote:I think it is a problem between having 2 different models being used

What do you mean, 2 different models? It uses a custom model for wieldview, sure, why should that be a problem?
Last edited by stu on Thu Apr 18, 2013 21:00, edited 1 time in total.
 

User avatar
jojoa1997
Member
 
Posts: 2890
Joined: Thu Dec 13, 2012 05:11

by jojoa1997 » Thu Apr 18, 2013 21:18

I mean the default model and the wieldview one. Also here is a suggestion. http://forum.minetest.net/viewtopic.php?pid=84983#p84983
you can check for the hud function though i forget the code to chexk
Last edited by jojoa1997 on Fri Apr 19, 2013 10:55, edited 1 time in total.
Coding;
1X coding
3X debugging
12X tweaking to be just right
 

User avatar
Pavel_S
Member
 
Posts: 131
Joined: Sat Apr 06, 2013 11:43

by Pavel_S » Thu Apr 25, 2013 17:55

I added helmet to player model, so is it need to move on?
Image
Last edited by Pavel_S on Thu Apr 25, 2013 18:01, edited 1 time in total.
 

User avatar
Pavel_S
Member
 
Posts: 131
Joined: Sat Apr 06, 2013 11:43

by Pavel_S » Thu May 16, 2013 05:04

I change wieldview model and now it`s realy 3d armor=)
Image
So it need to be coded.
 

User avatar
jojoa1997
Member
 
Posts: 2890
Joined: Thu Dec 13, 2012 05:11

by jojoa1997 » Thu May 16, 2013 11:01

Pavel_S wrote:I change wieldview model and now it`s realy 3d armor=)
Image
So it need to be coded.
Could you make 3d armor. Also maybe would it be possible for you to like only change unified skins or at least not eh definitions of the armor. Also stu maybe you could make feet. Feel free to use the code in minitest to make the feet.
Coding;
1X coding
3X debugging
12X tweaking to be just right
 

User avatar
stu
Member
 
Posts: 737
Joined: Sat Feb 02, 2013 02:51
GitHub: stujones11

by stu » Thu May 16, 2013 19:51

Pavel_S wrote:I change wieldview model and now it`s realy 3d armor=)
Image
So it need to be coded.

Neat, I was thinking of adding an outer skin for armor myself but this could save me some time. Is there anywhere I can download the blender file?

jojoa1997: I saw what you did with armor in MiniTest and it looks great. I do plan on making some updates to armor once MT 0.4.7 is released.
 

User avatar
jojoa1997
Member
 
Posts: 2890
Joined: Thu Dec 13, 2012 05:11

by jojoa1997 » Thu May 16, 2013 21:22

stu wrote:
Pavel_S wrote:I change wieldview model and now it`s realy 3d armor=)
Image
So it need to be coded.

Neat, I was thinking of adding an outer skin for armor myself but this could save me some time. Is there anywhere I can download the blender file?

jojoa1997: I saw what you did with armor in MiniTest and it looks great. I do plan on making some updates to armor once MT 0.4.7 is released.
what is so special with 0.4.7 that isn't in 0.4.6? Also the damage is messed up I think in the armor. Wood has little uses and health while steel has tons of damage and health. Also maybe gold and diamond should be added.
Coding;
1X coding
3X debugging
12X tweaking to be just right
 

User avatar
stu
Member
 
Posts: 737
Joined: Sat Feb 02, 2013 02:51
GitHub: stujones11

by stu » Thu May 16, 2013 21:42

jojoa1997 wrote:what is so special with 0.4.7 that isn't in 0.4.6? Also the damage is messed up I think in the armor. Wood has little uses and health while steel has tons of damage and health. Also maybe gold and diamond should be added.

Well, I got caught out updating the mod just prior to the 0.4.6 release, someone went and completely changed the damage system ;-) I am guessing 0.4.7 will be here pretty soon anyway.

Wooden armor, like wooden tools, should not be very efffective imo. Wood is easily obtained compared to mining and smelting metals. Damage has do with the default swords, not the armor and I am reluctent to override them. I was considering using diamond to 'enhance' the basic armor, maybe make those have the healing properties...not sure yet.
 

User avatar
Pavel_S
Member
 
Posts: 131
Joined: Sat Apr 06, 2013 11:43

by Pavel_S » Fri May 17, 2013 03:03

I upload .blend`s to DropBox. Link.
Full information is in ReadMe.txt
 

User avatar
stu
Member
 
Posts: 737
Joined: Sat Feb 02, 2013 02:51
GitHub: stujones11

by stu » Fri May 17, 2013 23:12

Pavel_S wrote:I upload .blend`s to DropBox. Link.
Full information is in ReadMe.txt
Thank you Pavel_S, that looks really good. I would have rather kept the 64x64px size for the UV but I can change that myself.

Cheers!
 

User avatar
jojoa1997
Member
 
Posts: 2890
Joined: Thu Dec 13, 2012 05:11

by jojoa1997 » Sat May 18, 2013 00:32

Also maybe you could find a way to overide the default texture and model. Maybe have it load after 1 second.
Coding;
1X coding
3X debugging
12X tweaking to be just right
 

User avatar
Pavel_S
Member
 
Posts: 131
Joined: Sat Apr 06, 2013 11:43

by Pavel_S » Sat May 18, 2013 02:46

stu wrote:Thank you Pavel_S, that looks really good. I would have rather kept the 64x64px size for the UV but I can change that myself.

Cheers!

If you want 64x64px size, you need delete wieldview part of the mesh.
 

User avatar
stu
Member
 
Posts: 737
Joined: Sat Feb 02, 2013 02:51
GitHub: stujones11

by stu » Sat May 18, 2013 15:38

Pavel_S wrote:
stu wrote:Thank you Pavel_S, that looks really good. I would have rather kept the 64x64px size for the UV but I can change that myself.

Cheers!

If you want 64x64px size, you need delete wieldview part of the mesh.

Not necessarily, it should all fit if the helmet is moved to its original position next to the head.
 

User avatar
stu
Member
 
Posts: 737
Joined: Sat Feb 02, 2013 02:51
GitHub: stujones11

by stu » Sat May 18, 2013 15:46

jojoa1997 wrote:Also maybe you could find a way to overide the default texture and model. Maybe have it load after 1 second.

It should override the deafult model/textures as it is. I did originally have a delay there but it seems to work fine with minetest.after(0, ... ).

Are you still having problems? Perhaps I'll put a half second delay back in there if you think it will help.
Last edited by stu on Sat May 18, 2013 15:46, edited 1 time in total.
 

User avatar
jojoa1997
Member
 
Posts: 2890
Joined: Thu Dec 13, 2012 05:11

by jojoa1997 » Sat May 18, 2013 19:46

that will probably healp
stu wrote:
jojoa1997 wrote:Also maybe you could find a way to overide the default texture and model. Maybe have it load after 1 second.

It should override the deafult model/textures as it is. I did originally have a delay there but it seems to work fine with minetest.after(0, ... ).

Are you still having problems? Perhaps I'll put a half second delay back in there if you think it will help.
Coding;
1X coding
3X debugging
12X tweaking to be just right
 

User avatar
stu
Member
 
Posts: 737
Joined: Sat Feb 02, 2013 02:51
GitHub: stujones11

by stu » Sat Jun 08, 2013 16:02

3d armor mod that almost was...
Image
Anyone interested in making this a reality will have to shout at the devs & possibly Pavel_S.

http://forum.minetest.net/viewtopic.php?id=6038
http://forum.minetest.net/viewtopic.php?pid=93590#p93590
 

User avatar
Zeg9
Member
 
Posts: 608
Joined: Fri Sep 21, 2012 11:02

by Zeg9 » Sat Jun 08, 2013 16:35

Please merge this to make it compatible with inventory++:
https://github.com/stujones11/minetest-3d_armor/pull/2
I made a few (a lot of?) mods for minetest: here is a list.
See also the MT-Faithful texture pack (work in progress).
 

User avatar
stu
Member
 
Posts: 737
Joined: Sat Feb 02, 2013 02:51
GitHub: stujones11

by stu » Sat Jun 08, 2013 16:45

Zeg9 wrote:Please merge this to make it compatible with inventory++:
https://github.com/stujones11/minetest-3d_armor/pull/2


Done!
 

User avatar
Zeg9
Member
 
Posts: 608
Joined: Fri Sep 21, 2012 11:02

by Zeg9 » Sat Jun 08, 2013 17:10

stu wrote:
Zeg9 wrote:Please merge this to make it compatible with inventory++:
https://github.com/stujones11/minetest-3d_armor/pull/2


Done!

Thanks ! By the way, would your commit (you know, the one reverted :/) fix the problem with "HD" skins ?
I made a few (a lot of?) mods for minetest: here is a list.
See also the MT-Faithful texture pack (work in progress).
 

PreviousNext

Return to Mod Releases

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 79 guests

cron