[Mod] Mobs Redo [1.34] [mobs]

User avatar
DreamKeeper
Member
 
Posts: 20
Joined: Mon Oct 24, 2016 17:37

Re: [Mod] Mobs Redo [1.32] [mobs]

by DreamKeeper » Mon Oct 31, 2016 20:44

Please, help me to install mobs on my server.
And NPC also..
 

User avatar
azekill_DIABLO
Member
 
Posts: 3458
Joined: Wed Oct 29, 2014 20:05
GitHub: azekillDIABLO
In-game: azekill_DIABLO

Re: [Mod] Mobs Redo [1.32] [mobs]

by azekill_DIABLO » Mon Oct 31, 2016 21:36

yeah, it has been added to voxellar!
Your phone or window isn't wide enough to display the code box. If it's a phone, try rotating it to landscape mode.
Code: Select all
Hi, my username is azekill_DIABLO and i'm an exelent bug-maker(yeah...i know...i have a bad reputation)

azekill_DIABLO said: Mineyoshi+ABJ+Baggins= TOPIC HIJACKED.
My Mods and Stuff | Voxellar | VoxBox on GITHUB | M.I.L.A Monster engine
WEIRD MODDING CONTEST !!!
 

snoopy
Member
 
Posts: 34
Joined: Thu Oct 20, 2016 16:49

Re: [Mod] Mobs Redo [1.32] [mobs]

by snoopy » Thu Nov 03, 2016 14:23

DreamKeeper wrote:Please, help me to install mobs on my server.
And NPC also..

Have a look at the intro page, get all four zip files from the four downloads, rename unzipped folder accordingly by removing the "-master" part, move folders into the "mods" folder of your minetest installation.

Start and stop minetest with the mods copied. In your applicable world folder edit "world.mt" and set the b.m. listed variables to true as these default to "false" after the first run.
Your phone or window isn't wide enough to display the code box. If it's a phone, try rotating it to landscape mode.
Code: Select all
load_mod_mobs = true
load_mod_mobs_animal = true
load_mod_mobs_monster = true
load_mod_mobs_npc = true

Alternatively you may use the GUI of minetest to activate the mods.
Enjoying Minetest by Neoascetic's and Morn76's builds on Mac OS X 10.11.6 clients with local server and several modifications.
 

User avatar
Andrey01
Member
 
Posts: 431
Joined: Wed Oct 19, 2016 15:18
In-game: Andrey01

Re: [Mod] Mobs Redo [1.32] [mobs]

by Andrey01 » Thu Nov 03, 2016 16:52

DreamKeeper wrote:Please, help me to install mobs on my server.
And NPC also..

And what don`t have you get?What do need you help?
 

snoopy
Member
 
Posts: 34
Joined: Thu Oct 20, 2016 16:49

Re: [Mod] Mobs Redo [1.32] [mobs]

by snoopy » Thu Nov 03, 2016 18:02

On my local server we are quite happy with the mobs_redo (i.e. mobs, monster, animal, npc) mod compilation as of 2016-10-31 master. The new spawn rates seem to be reasonable. A little glitch may be some of the cows are seeking the deeper waters and dying there regularly.

Thanks a lot for the nice work.
Enjoying Minetest by Neoascetic's and Morn76's builds on Mac OS X 10.11.6 clients with local server and several modifications.
 

luigipacheco
New member
 
Posts: 8
Joined: Mon Jul 20, 2015 05:51
GitHub: luigipacheco
In-game: luigi

Re: [Mod] Mobs Redo [1.32] [mobs]

by luigipacheco » Fri Nov 04, 2016 02:00

now working for me i did all the steps but once in game it wont spawn mobs
 

snoopy
Member
 
Posts: 34
Joined: Thu Oct 20, 2016 16:49

Re: [Mod] Mobs Redo [1.32] [mobs]

by snoopy » Sat Nov 05, 2016 07:40

Enjoying Minetest by Neoascetic's and Morn76's builds on Mac OS X 10.11.6 clients with local server and several modifications.
 

ph8jPf9M
Member
 
Posts: 70
Joined: Sat Jul 16, 2016 10:29
GitHub: 22i

Re: [Mod] Mobs Redo [1.32] [mobs]

by ph8jPf9M » Sun Nov 06, 2016 13:05

TenPlus1 wrote:The latest update changed mob spawning so that it actually counts the number of a specific mob inside the area beforehand and spawns a new one only if within limits... Here is an example of a new spawn command which is easier to use:

Your phone or window isn't wide enough to display the code box. If it's a phone, try rotating it to landscape mode.
Code: Select all
mobs:spawn({
   name = "mobs_animal:cow",
   nodes = {"group:soil"}, -- default is {"group:soil", "group:stone"}
   neighbors = {"air"} -- default is {"air"}
   min_light = 5, -- default is 0
   max_light =15 -- default is 15
   interval = 30, -- default is 30
   chance = 9000, -- default is 5000
   active_object_count = 1, -- default is 1 (per map block)
   min_height = 0, -- default is -31000
   max_height = 31000, default is 31000
   day_toggle = true -- default is nil (true for day, false for night, nil for both)
   on_spawn = nil, -- function on spawn (nil by default)
})


...also minetest.conf setting has been changed so that mob chance AND numbers per map block can be changed, e.g. This changes cow spawn chance to 7000 and number per block to 5:

Your phone or window isn't wide enough to display the code box. If it's a phone, try rotating it to landscape mode.
Code: Select all
mobs_animal:cow = 7000,5


...if you only wish to change numbers per block do this instead:

Your phone or window isn't wide enough to display the code box. If it's a phone, try rotating it to landscape mode.
Code: Select all
mobs_animal:cow = ,5


Sorry if it was already asked/explained before but i have some mob spawning questions:

The latest update changed mob spawning so that it actually counts the number of a specific mob inside the area beforehand and spawns a new one only if within limits...
How big is the area in nodes that it checks for a specific mob?

Interval = 30 --means every 30 seconds new mob spawns?
chance = 9000 -- 1 mob every 9000 nodes or 1 in 9000 chance to spawn a mob?
active_object_count = 1 -- only one mob per mapblock? - what is mapblock? and how big is it in nodes?

Sounds

Also is there a way to add 5 different sounds for random, attack ,damage and how?

Your phone or window isn't wide enough to display the code box. If it's a phone, try rotating it to landscape mode.
Code: Select all
   sounds = {
        random = "mobs_chicken1",
        random = "mobs_chicken2",
        random = "mobs_chicken3",
        random = "mobs_chicken4",
        random = "mobs_chicken5",
        damage = "mobs_chickenaw1",
        damage = "mobs_chickenaw2",
        damage = "mobs_chickenaw3",
        death = "mobs_chickendeath1",
        death = "mobs_chickendeath2",
        death = "mobs_chickendeath3",
        death = "mobs_chickendeath4",
   },
 

User avatar
TenPlus1
Member
 
Posts: 1874
Joined: Mon Jul 29, 2013 13:38
GitHub: tenplus1

Re: [Mod] Mobs Redo [1.32] [mobs]

by TenPlus1 » Sun Nov 06, 2016 20:22

A map block is 16x16x16 and I cover this by having it check 32 node radius to be sure (active_object_count is counted inside this area)

Interval is indeed 30 seconds default and chance is 1 in every 9000th node (e.g. spawn a cow on dirt, every 9000'th node will have a chance of a cow).

As for sounds, just have random = "mobs_chicken" and rename sound files to "mobs_chicken.1.ogg" "mobs_chicken.2.ogg" etc and it randomly selects a sound from the list.
 

User avatar
TenPlus1
Member
 
Posts: 1874
Joined: Mon Jul 29, 2013 13:38
GitHub: tenplus1

Re: [Mod] Mobs Redo [1.32] [mobs]

by TenPlus1 » Tue Nov 08, 2016 16:44

Update:

- Tamed mobs can now be protected from harm by crafting a Protection Rune (8x stone with 1x gold block in centre) and right-clicking mob with it.
 

User avatar
maikerumine
Member
 
Posts: 946
Joined: Mon Aug 04, 2014 14:27
GitHub: maikerumine
In-game: maikerumine

Re: [Mod] Mobs Redo [1.32] [mobs]

by maikerumine » Tue Nov 08, 2016 19:33

TenPlus1 wrote:Update:

- Tamed mobs can now be protected from harm by crafting a Protection Rune (8x stone with 1x gold block in centre) and right-clicking mob with it.


+100!
 

User avatar
ExeterDad
Member
 
Posts: 1121
Joined: Sun Jun 01, 2014 20:00
In-game: ExeterDad

Re: [Mod] Mobs Redo [1.32] [mobs]

by ExeterDad » Tue Nov 08, 2016 19:42

TenPlus1 wrote:Update:

- Tamed mobs can now be protected from harm by crafting a Protection Rune (8x stone with 1x gold block in centre) and right-clicking mob with it.

Fantastic! Whats the use of taming and keeping chickens if someone could just come up and slaughter them.
٩(̾●̮̮̃̾•̃̾)۶

Kibbie and I have a beautiful public server now! HOMETOWN
 

User avatar
firefox
Member
 
Posts: 1185
Joined: Wed Jan 14, 2015 07:34
In-game: Red_Fox

Re: [Mod] Mobs Redo [1.32] [mobs]

by firefox » Tue Nov 08, 2016 20:08

TenPlus1 wrote:Update:

- Tamed mobs can now be protected from harm by crafting a Protection Rune (8x stone with 1x gold block in centre) and right-clicking mob with it.

+100
 

User avatar
D00Med
Member
 
Posts: 712
Joined: Sat Feb 07, 2015 22:49
GitHub: D00Med

Re: [Mod] Mobs Redo [1.32] [mobs]

by D00Med » Tue Nov 08, 2016 20:34

Nice update!, this is really useful
Look! I have a signature :]
My subgame: https://forum.minetest.net/viewtopic.php?f=15&t=14051#p207242
dmobs2 is coming...
 

User avatar
cHyper
Member
 
Posts: 587
Joined: Fri May 06, 2011 08:49
IRC: cHyper
In-game: cHyper

Re: [Mod] Mobs Redo [1.32] [mobs]

by cHyper » Wed Nov 09, 2016 18:42

TenPlus1 wrote:Update:

- Tamed mobs can now be protected from harm by crafting a Protection Rune (8x stone with 1x gold block in centre) and right-clicking mob with it.


+1
 

KCoombes
Member
 
Posts: 278
Joined: Thu Jun 11, 2015 23:19
In-game: Knatt or Rudilyn

Re: [Mod] Mobs Redo [1.32] [mobs]

by KCoombes » Thu Nov 10, 2016 11:28

TenPlus1 wrote:Update:

- Tamed mobs can now be protected from harm by crafting a Protection Rune (8x stone with 1x gold block in centre) and right-clicking mob with it.


Will this prevent /clearobjects from killing livestock off?
 

User avatar
TenPlus1
Member
 
Posts: 1874
Joined: Mon Jul 29, 2013 13:38
GitHub: tenplus1

Re: [Mod] Mobs Redo [1.32] [mobs]

by TenPlus1 » Fri Nov 11, 2016 09:09

Nope, the /clearobjects command kills ALL entities.
 

zorman2000
Member
 
Posts: 19
Joined: Tue Jul 26, 2016 18:18
GitHub: hkzorman
In-game: zorman2000

Re: [Mod] Mobs Redo [1.32] [mobs]

by zorman2000 » Fri Nov 11, 2016 14:04

Hi Tenplus1, I'm trying to expand the functionality of the NPC mob. I would like to do so without editing the API, just implement using existing functions and variables. With that in mind, I have the following questions:

- Where do I define "do_custom()" function? Alongside "on_rightclick()", for example?
- Is "do_custom" called in intervals? If so, how frequently it is called?
- Can I add more variables to the "self" object without changing the main API?
- What are the accepted values for "self.child"? Is it boolean?
- I'm using a custom spawner for mobs (basically a copy of yours but with some slight modifications). Is there a way I can set the self.* variables to some specific value at spawn time?

Thanks!
 

User avatar
TenPlus1
Member
 
Posts: 1874
Joined: Mon Jul 29, 2013 13:38
GitHub: tenplus1

Re: [Mod] Mobs Redo [1.32] [mobs]

by TenPlus1 » Fri Nov 11, 2016 14:37

Check out the rat.lua file in mobs_animal as examples are usually pasted there :) do_custom is called every tick so you would need to add your own timer for specific intervals...

You can add as many self.* variables as you like since they will all be saved in the entity itself, and yes, self.child is a boolean value.

On spawn you have a on_spawn function which you can use to read/set variables for the entity, or you can do a simple lua example like this:

Your phone or window isn't wide enough to display the code box. If it's a phone, try rotating it to landscape mode.
Code: Select all
local mob = minetest.add_entity(pos, "mobs:creeper")
if mob and mob:get_luaentity() then
   local ent = mob:get_luaentity()
   ent.nametag = "Mr. Boombastic"
   ent.tamed = true
   ent.owner = "TenPlus1"
else
   mob:remove() -- entity not found, remove unknown.
end
 

zorman2000
Member
 
Posts: 19
Joined: Tue Jul 26, 2016 18:18
GitHub: hkzorman
In-game: zorman2000

Re: [Mod] Mobs Redo [1.32] [mobs]

by zorman2000 » Fri Nov 11, 2016 15:58

Awesome!! I just checked rat.lua and definetely it has the examples I need. Thank you so much for the quick and comprehensive answer!!
 

zorman2000
Member
 
Posts: 19
Joined: Tue Jul 26, 2016 18:18
GitHub: hkzorman
In-game: zorman2000

Re: [Mod] Mobs Redo [1.32] [mobs]

by zorman2000 » Mon Nov 14, 2016 15:36

Hi Tenplus1,

I'm using the spawn function that is in the rat.lua file, and I notice that almost all the time (think I have seen a negative case 1 or 2 times), the nametag for the mob and any other visual attribute (like resizing) doesn't works until I restart the server. It looks like the entity needs a refresh. Do you know about this? Is there any way to "refresh" the visual entity?

Edit: For clarity, this is very similar to what I'm doing:

Your phone or window isn't wide enough to display the code box. If it's a phone, try rotating it to landscape mode.
Code: Select all
local function npc_spawn(self, pos)
  minetest.log("Spawning new NPC...")
  local ent = self:get_luaentity()
  ent.nametag = "Name"

  minetest.log(dump(ent))
end

-- Spawn
mobs:spawn({
   name = "advanced_npc:npc",
   nodes = {"default:stone"},
   min_light = 3,
   active_object_count = 1,
  interval = 5,
  chance = 1,
   --max_height = 0,
   on_spawn = npc_spawn,
})


Sometimes the entity seems to be stuck (I have changed default behavior to follow so they wander about) and it is not until I quit and start again that the nametag shows and it starts moving around.

Thanks!
 

User avatar
TenPlus1
Member
 
Posts: 1874
Joined: Mon Jul 29, 2013 13:38
GitHub: tenplus1

Re: [Mod] Mobs Redo [1.32] [mobs]

by TenPlus1 » Mon Nov 14, 2016 20:32

Adding this line will force an update of an entity:

self.object:set_properties(self)
 

zorman2000
Member
 
Posts: 19
Joined: Tue Jul 26, 2016 18:18
GitHub: hkzorman
In-game: zorman2000

Re: [Mod] Mobs Redo [1.32] [mobs]

by zorman2000 » Mon Nov 14, 2016 23:53

TenPlus1 wrote:self.object:set_properties(self)


Yes, that did it! Thanks a lot!!
 

ph8jPf9M
Member
 
Posts: 70
Joined: Sat Jul 16, 2016 10:29
GitHub: 22i

Re: [Mod] Mobs Redo [1.32] [mobs]

by ph8jPf9M » Tue Nov 15, 2016 15:52

Is there a way to make mobs bigger with an item growray? Growray is a tool with durability. When you rightclick a mob with it it changes mobs visual size from visual_size = {x=4, y=4}, to visual_size = {x=5, y=5}, and each time we growray a mob it grows by 1 in x and y until he is a giant mob then we cant grow him any further. Also there is shrinkray that makes mobs smaller just the oposite of growray. How can this be done?
 

User avatar
Christian9
Member
 
Posts: 273
Joined: Fri Sep 19, 2014 20:29
In-game: Christian9

Re: [Mod] Mobs Redo [1.32] [mobs]

by Christian9 » Sun Nov 20, 2016 04:59

How do you install the new version?
 

User avatar
Nathan.S
Member
 
Posts: 679
Joined: Wed Sep 24, 2014 17:47
GitHub: NathanSalapat
IRC: NathanS21
In-game: NathanS21

Re: [Mod] Mobs Redo [1.32] [mobs]

by Nathan.S » Sun Nov 20, 2016 15:21

Download or clone from github and place in your mods folder. Rename the folder to mobs if necessary.
I record Minetest videos, Mod reviews, Modding tutorials, and Lets plays.
Check out my website.
 

captpete
Member
 
Posts: 37
Joined: Fri Nov 25, 2016 03:02

Re: [Mod] Mobs Redo [1.32] [mobs]

by captpete » Sun Nov 27, 2016 22:17

Crashes (grey screen) with an Error on 0.4.14

2016-11-27 16:31:18: ERROR[Main]: ServerError: Lua: OOM error from mod 'mobs_animal' in callback luaentity_Step(): not enough memory
2016-11-27 16:31:18: ERROR[Main]: Current Lua memory usage: 70 MB
2016-11-27 16:31:18: ACTION[Server]: singleplayer leaves game. List of players:
[biome_lib] Stand by, playing out the rest of the aircheck mapblock log
(there are 0 entries)...
[biome_lib] Stand by, playing out the rest of the no-aircheck mapblock log
(there are 0 entries)...

Fixed (I Think) see topic https://forum.minetest.net/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=13972&hilit=OOM
Last edited by captpete on Sun Nov 27, 2016 23:20, edited 1 time in total.
 

User avatar
Christian9
Member
 
Posts: 273
Joined: Fri Sep 19, 2014 20:29
In-game: Christian9

Re: [Mod] Mobs Redo [1.32] [mobs]

by Christian9 » Sun Nov 27, 2016 23:04

Thanks, I am an idiot
"I dreamed of becoming a scientist, in general, and a paleontologist, in particular, ever since the Tyrannosaurus skeleton awed and scared me" - Steven Jay Gould

My Deviantart Page
My Website
 

twoelk
Member
 
Posts: 1092
Joined: Fri Apr 19, 2013 16:19

Re: [Mod] Mobs Redo [1.32] [mobs]

by twoelk » Wed Dec 14, 2016 20:05

I had just been rearranging some of the mods on the http://wiki.minetest.net/Mods:Mobs page and while noticing how Mobs-Redo is vacuuming up more and more of the other mobs I was wondering wether a new group could be added that includes seasonal mobs such as the old Santa! NPC. These could be triggered or limited by some querying of the actuall real time of the year or some set ingame season variable. A Santa placing Lucky Blocks under Christmas Trees near players might be fun.
Anyways there are still some old and endangered mobs out there that might be worth recoding as addins for this API ;-P
 

redblade7
Member
 
Posts: 101
Joined: Sun Feb 15, 2015 07:14
IRC: redblade7 redblade bleakfire
In-game: redblade7

Re: [Mod] Mobs Redo [1.28] [mobs]

by redblade7 » Sun Dec 18, 2016 22:52

mahmutelmas06 wrote:
redblade7 wrote:
TenPlus1 wrote:You could always comment out the mobs:spawn_egg line inside of the bunny.lua file to remove it's spawn egg completely.


No, I want the animals in the game, I just dont want people to take 99 kittens out of inventory and dump them everywhere. I already commented out all the monsters from my server and the spawner tool a long time ago. What I want is to remove the animals from creative inventory, like some mods have "not_in_creative_inventory = 1"


There wont be in inventory if you delete mobs:register_egg("mobs:animalname", "animalname", "mobs_animalname_inv.png", 0) line from each mobs lua files.
But they still be exist in game.


This makes a tamed mob turn to an unknown item when you try and pick it up (or use the net). Is there a way to remove the mob eggs from creative inventory while still allowing a picked up tamed mob?
-redblade7
Admin of:

* THE CREATIVE GARDENS (Creative Mode server)
* THE VALLEYS (Sandbox Server)
* THE DIGITAL FARMS (Pizza-like server with protection and emphasis on farming)
 

PreviousNext

Return to Mod Releases

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 70 guests

cron