[Mod] Mobs Redo [1.34] [mobs]

User avatar
TenPlus1
Member
 
Posts: 1874
Joined: Mon Jul 29, 2013 13:38
GitHub: tenplus1

Re: [Mod] Mobs Redo [1.32] [mobs]

by TenPlus1 » Fri Oct 21, 2016 13:50

Updated to version 1.32:

- New spawning check added that actually counts mob type in area
- Mob chance and area numbers can be changed from minetest.conf

e.g. add this line to change chicken spawn chance to 1000 and numbers to 5 per mapblock area:

Your phone or window isn't wide enough to display the code box. If it's a phone, try rotating it to landscape mode.
Code: Select all
mobs_animal:chicken = 1000,5


..or to simply change rate:

Your phone or window isn't wide enough to display the code box. If it's a phone, try rotating it to landscape mode.
Code: Select all
mobs_animal:chicken = 1000


..and for spawn numbers only:

Your phone or window isn't wide enough to display the code box. If it's a phone, try rotating it to landscape mode.
Code: Select all
mobs_animal:chicken = ,5
 

User avatar
Andrey01
Member
 
Posts: 431
Joined: Wed Oct 19, 2016 15:18
In-game: Andrey01

Re: [Mod] Mobs Redo [1.32] [mobs]

by Andrey01 » Fri Oct 21, 2016 14:36

And will be to add new mobs?
 

abcd_z
Member
 
Posts: 13
Joined: Mon Sep 05, 2011 05:07

Re: [Mod] Mobs Redo [1.32] [mobs]

by abcd_z » Fri Oct 21, 2016 20:57

The attack change is limiting and frustrating, and it's not obvious how long it will take for the next attack to be effective.

Additionally, making an attack switch from "not-effective" to "effective" within the space of a split-second makes no logical sense from an in-game perspective. Attack capability should restore over time, not be a binary switch.

When Minecraft switched from spammable attacks to a recovery time, it did two things different from your approach: first, the damage done was decreased by the amount of time since the last attack, and even at its weakest an attack could still so *some* damage (20% base damage if the second attack took place 0.0 seconds later). Second, minecraft included indicators of the attack strength: the height of the weapon and a bar that would refill with the weapon strength.

I would strongly prefer bringing back the old spammable behavior, but if your mind is set against it, please at least change it so that strength regains over time, a fully-depleted attack can still do some damage, and there is some indicator on-screen of the current attack strength.

Having to guess when the next attack will be valid for arbitrary game-balancing reasons is limiting and frustrating.
 

User avatar
TenPlus1
Member
 
Posts: 1874
Joined: Mon Jul 29, 2013 13:38
GitHub: tenplus1

Re: [Mod] Mobs Redo [1.32] [mobs]

by TenPlus1 » Sat Oct 22, 2016 07:17

abcd_z: I do like the idea of 20% damage if tool attack hasn't charged back up yet.
 

abcd_z
Member
 
Posts: 13
Joined: Mon Sep 05, 2011 05:07

Re: [Mod] Mobs Redo [1.32] [mobs]

by abcd_z » Sat Oct 22, 2016 08:03

What about the other two: attack strength visual indicators and non-binary strength regeneration?
 

User avatar
TenPlus1
Member
 
Posts: 1874
Joined: Mon Jul 29, 2013 13:38
GitHub: tenplus1

Re: [Mod] Mobs Redo [1.32] [mobs]

by TenPlus1 » Sat Oct 22, 2016 08:18

Visual indicators are more difficult to do and would need HUD elements added which I'm not willing to add to a mobs mod. Explain what you mean by non-binary strength ?

Current attack behaviour can be spammed BUT knockback will only happen at full tool interval... Spam attacks by punching will only deal damage at full interval, but if using sword or other tool then attack damage is reduced unless full interval has passed.
 

abcd_z
Member
 
Posts: 13
Joined: Mon Sep 05, 2011 05:07

Re: [Mod] Mobs Redo [1.32] [mobs]

by abcd_z » Sat Oct 22, 2016 08:42

TenPlus1 wrote:Visual indicators are more difficult to do and would need HUD elements added which I'm not willing to add to a mobs mod. Explain what you mean by non-binary strength ?


Currently it's set up so that the attack either works (100% damage) or it doesn't (0% damage), depending on if it's reached its cooldown time or not.

I'd like to see it set up so that the damage dealt is a function of the time since the last use. For example, 20% weapon strength at 0 seconds, with another 20% damage added every .5 seconds, reaching full strength at 2.5 seconds.

Are you sure there's no simple, easy way to visually indicate that your weapon won't deal full damage? The gameplay that I experienced that frustrated me the most was swinging my sword and continuing to hold the swing button down, and the weapon dealing no damage, even after the cooldown window should have expired. It's not obvious, it's not intuitive, and it's frustrating as hell. A visual indicator would go a long ways towards mitigating this frustration.
 

abcd_z
Member
 
Posts: 13
Joined: Mon Sep 05, 2011 05:07

Re: [Mod] Mobs Redo [1.32] [mobs]

by abcd_z » Sat Oct 22, 2016 08:48

Never mind, I'm an idiot. I just went back to test this and I guess I was misremembering how the attacks worked. Everything's fine, please ignore.
 

User avatar
azekill_DIABLO
Member
 
Posts: 3458
Joined: Wed Oct 29, 2014 20:05
GitHub: azekillDIABLO
In-game: azekill_DIABLO

Re: [Mod] Mobs Redo [1.32] [mobs]

by azekill_DIABLO » Sat Oct 22, 2016 10:11

i agree that mi,ecraft has a great pve system. However, the pvp system has many bugs..
Your phone or window isn't wide enough to display the code box. If it's a phone, try rotating it to landscape mode.
Code: Select all
Hi, my username is azekill_DIABLO and i'm an exelent bug-maker(yeah...i know...i have a bad reputation)

azekill_DIABLO said: Mineyoshi+ABJ+Baggins= TOPIC HIJACKED.
My Mods and Stuff | Voxellar | VoxBox on GITHUB | M.I.L.A Monster engine
WEIRD MODDING CONTEST !!!
 

User avatar
maikerumine
Member
 
Posts: 946
Joined: Mon Aug 04, 2014 14:27
GitHub: maikerumine
In-game: maikerumine

Re: [Mod] Mobs Redo [1.30] [mobs]

by maikerumine » Tue Oct 25, 2016 21:41

TenPlus1 wrote:Update:

- Added 'attack_animals' flag to the api so that monsters will attack animals when set to true.
- Added 'specific_attack' flag so that monsters only attack specific entities e.g. {"player", "mobs_animal:chicken"}
- Removed highlight when mob is hit to stop lag when using large textures.
- Changed runaway timer from 3 to 5 seconds.
- When using custom on_die function you MUST remove mob yourself.
- Few tweaks here and there :)


Could you please explain this more and how to implement.

So far I have this:
Your phone or window isn't wide enough to display the code box. If it's a phone, try rotating it to landscape mode.
Code: Select all
   type = "monster",
   docile_by_day = true,
   passive = false,
   attack_type = "dogfight",
specific_attack =  {"player","mobs:target_mob"},

The rest is snipped, obivously.

The result is the mob doesn't attack the one in the list.
Yes, target mob is live and well as well as a monster.
 

User avatar
Milan*
Member
 
Posts: 203
Joined: Thu May 28, 2015 06:45
GitHub: tchncs
IRC: Passant
In-game: Milan Passant

Re: [Mod] Mobs Redo [1.32] [mobs]

by Milan* » Wed Oct 26, 2016 13:16

Hi there, i just ran in few problems:

New spawncommand:
Your phone or window isn't wide enough to display the code box. If it's a phone, try rotating it to landscape mode.
Code: Select all
    min_height = 0,
    max_height = 60,

...makes the mob also spawn in >-11000

I have also trouble with the spawn chance (especially for spawn_specific):
Your phone or window isn't wide enough to display the code box. If it's a phone, try rotating it to landscape mode.
Code: Select all
-- old code, way too much mobs
mobs:spawn_specific("mod:mob", {"caverealms:glow_emerald"}, {"caverealms:glow_emerald_ore", "default:air"}, 2, 14, 1, 1, 1, -22000, -11000, nil)

-- new code, omfg so many mobs (but i tested it with success locally :()
mobs:spawn_specific("mod:mob", {"caverealms:glow_mese"}, {"default:stone_with_mese", "default:air"}, 2, 14, 1, 90000, 1, -22000, -11000, nil)
 

User avatar
TenPlus1
Member
 
Posts: 1874
Joined: Mon Jul 29, 2013 13:38
GitHub: tenplus1

Re: [Mod] Mobs Redo [1.32] [mobs]

by TenPlus1 » Wed Oct 26, 2016 20:31

The latest update changed mob spawning so that it actually counts the number of a specific mob inside the area beforehand and spawns a new one only if within limits... Here is an example of a new spawn command which is easier to use:

Your phone or window isn't wide enough to display the code box. If it's a phone, try rotating it to landscape mode.
Code: Select all
mobs:spawn({
   name = "mobs_animal:cow",
   nodes = {"group:soil"}, -- default is {"group:soil", "group:stone"}
   neighbors = {"air"} -- default is {"air"}
   min_light = 5, -- default is 0
   max_light =15 -- default is 15
   interval = 30, -- default is 30
   chance = 9000, -- default is 5000
   active_object_count = 1, -- default is 1 (per map block)
   min_height = 0, -- default is -31000
   max_height = 31000, default is 31000
   day_toggle = true -- default is nil (true for day, false for night, nil for both)
   on_spawn = nil, -- function on spawn (nil by default)
})


...also minetest.conf setting has been changed so that mob chance AND numbers per map block can be changed, e.g. This changes cow spawn chance to 7000 and number per block to 5:

Your phone or window isn't wide enough to display the code box. If it's a phone, try rotating it to landscape mode.
Code: Select all
mobs_animal:cow = 7000,5


...if you only wish to change numbers per block do this instead:

Your phone or window isn't wide enough to display the code box. If it's a phone, try rotating it to landscape mode.
Code: Select all
mobs_animal:cow = ,5
 

User avatar
azekill_DIABLO
Member
 
Posts: 3458
Joined: Wed Oct 29, 2014 20:05
GitHub: azekillDIABLO
In-game: azekill_DIABLO

Re: [Mod] Mobs Redo [1.32] [mobs]

by azekill_DIABLO » Thu Oct 27, 2016 11:11

you know max handled light is 14? so why 15? But i like this new way of spawning mobs!
Your phone or window isn't wide enough to display the code box. If it's a phone, try rotating it to landscape mode.
Code: Select all
Hi, my username is azekill_DIABLO and i'm an exelent bug-maker(yeah...i know...i have a bad reputation)

azekill_DIABLO said: Mineyoshi+ABJ+Baggins= TOPIC HIJACKED.
My Mods and Stuff | Voxellar | VoxBox on GITHUB | M.I.L.A Monster engine
WEIRD MODDING CONTEST !!!
 

User avatar
TenPlus1
Member
 
Posts: 1874
Joined: Mon Jul 29, 2013 13:38
GitHub: tenplus1

Re: [Mod] Mobs Redo [1.32] [mobs]

by TenPlus1 » Thu Oct 27, 2016 19:36

max light for nodes is 14 but direct sunlight is 15 :)
 

flummi
New member
 
Posts: 7
Joined: Fri Sep 23, 2016 22:45

Re: [Mod] Mobs Redo [1.31] [mobs]

by flummi » Thu Oct 27, 2016 21:11

flummi wrote:Thanks for your reply BrunoMine,

the problem is not, that they jump over the fence, but they "vibrate" through the fence:

I have made a short screencast (ca. 20 MB in size) :

http://meiforth.org/videos/screener-2016-10-06_22.54.48.mkv

The tamed sheeps from mobs_redo keep "vibrating" through the corners of my fences - and only there in the corners. They can't jump over the fences or slip through at any other places. They just walk around in the corral until they reach a corner. There they stand still for some moments with their backside to the corner and then slowly start "vibrating" and sliding backwards until they are approx. half through the fence. Then they turn around and walk away - outside the corral. This seems to not happen to the cows from mob_redo [EDIT: well the cows can escape the corrals, but I haven't seen how they made it.] or the sheeps from the cme creature mod.



Flummi


Hello again,

was anybody able to solve this problem?

Thanks

Flummi
 

User avatar
TenPlus1
Member
 
Posts: 1874
Joined: Mon Jul 29, 2013 13:38
GitHub: tenplus1

Re: [Mod] Mobs Redo [1.32] [mobs]

by TenPlus1 » Fri Oct 28, 2016 08:17

Mobs Redo API has been updated a few times now and so far no tamed mobs have escaped on Xanadu so it may or may nothave been fixed already with one of the updates.
 

flummi
New member
 
Posts: 7
Joined: Fri Sep 23, 2016 22:45

Re: [Mod] Mobs Redo [1.32] [mobs]

by flummi » Fri Oct 28, 2016 14:49

TenPlus1 wrote:Mobs Redo API has been updated a few times now and so far no tamed mobs have escaped on Xanadu so it may or may nothave been fixed already with one of the updates.


Thanks, I will try. I didn't realize, that the api has changed, I only noticed the new mobs and spawn algorithm.
 

User avatar
azekill_DIABLO
Member
 
Posts: 3458
Joined: Wed Oct 29, 2014 20:05
GitHub: azekillDIABLO
In-game: azekill_DIABLO

Re: [Mod] Mobs Redo [1.32] [mobs]

by azekill_DIABLO » Fri Oct 28, 2016 18:00

TenPlus1 wrote:max light for nodes is 14 but direct sunlight is 15 :)

You learn me something!(^^)
Your phone or window isn't wide enough to display the code box. If it's a phone, try rotating it to landscape mode.
Code: Select all
Hi, my username is azekill_DIABLO and i'm an exelent bug-maker(yeah...i know...i have a bad reputation)

azekill_DIABLO said: Mineyoshi+ABJ+Baggins= TOPIC HIJACKED.
My Mods and Stuff | Voxellar | VoxBox on GITHUB | M.I.L.A Monster engine
WEIRD MODDING CONTEST !!!
 

flummi
New member
 
Posts: 7
Joined: Fri Sep 23, 2016 22:45

Re: [Mod] Mobs Redo [1.32] [mobs]

by flummi » Fri Oct 28, 2016 19:29

flummi wrote:
TenPlus1 wrote:Mobs Redo API has been updated a few times now and so far no tamed mobs have escaped on Xanadu so it may or may nothave been fixed already with one of the updates.


Thanks, I will try. I didn't realize, that the api has changed, I only noticed the new mobs and spawn algorithm.


Hmmm, I just installed the latest mobs_redo and mobs_animal - and in the beginning two tamed sheep came out of the corner without leaving the corral, but after that they just vibrated through the fences again. Can it be, because they are "older" sheeps from the older api or are the sheeps in my world automatically "updated" when I install the newer version of the mobs?

Thanks

Flummi
 

snoopy
Member
 
Posts: 34
Joined: Thu Oct 20, 2016 16:49

Re: [Mod] Mobs Redo [1.32] [mobs]

by snoopy » Fri Oct 28, 2016 23:49

This is a great mod, thanks a lot. My kids and me enjoy this mod since 0.4.13 and our favourites are the lava monster and the mine trolls i.e. dungeon kings. My little ones like to chase rats in the caves and are calling them mice. Much fun.
Enjoying Minetest by Neoascetic's and Morn76's builds on Mac OS X 10.11.6 clients with local server and several modifications.
 

abcd_z
Member
 
Posts: 13
Joined: Mon Sep 05, 2011 05:07

Re: [Mod] Mobs Redo [1.32] [mobs]

by abcd_z » Sat Oct 29, 2016 18:17

Okay, so I was wrong before when I said I was mistaken. I had been playing it on Creative mode, which lets you kill mobs in one or two hits. There is, in fact, still a problem.

When I punch an enemy mob (spiders, zombies), it makes the punching noise and the red blood particles, even when I don't actually do any damage. If I didn't have the "HP # of #" to look at I'd spam punch all day long, wondering why it was taking forever to kill the mob. In fact, for enemies that *don't* have that indicator (e.g. mobs underground, esmobs), I had no idea if my attacks were doing any damage or not.

I strongly dislike the way you've set up the "anti-cheat" measure. It's frustrating and counterintuitive, and there's no obvious indicator when your attacks aren't going to do any damage, especially on mobs that don't show their health (e.g. every mob underground).

At the very least, please include a switch so that people like me (and the other person who mentioned it upthread) can remove that functionality from the game if we so desire. Just because you think that spamming the attack button is cheating doesn't mean everybody agrees with you*, and even if we did your implementation of it leaves much to be desired.

*That one guy upthread agreed with you, but his spelling and grammar was atrocious. I wouldn't trust his judgment.

EDIT: I mean, isn't that the whole point of mods? Everybody should be free to make the gameplay how they want, and not be locked into a certain approach? "Spamming attack" vs. "not spamming attack" isn't something that can affect other mods, so it's just you trying to force a certain type of gameplay on us. C'mon man, give us some freedom.
 

User avatar
duane
Member
 
Posts: 776
Joined: Wed Aug 19, 2015 19:11
GitHub: duane-r

Re: [Mod] Mobs Redo [1.32] [mobs]

by duane » Sat Oct 29, 2016 21:17

abcd_z wrote:EDIT: I mean, isn't that the whole point of mods? Everybody should be free to make the gameplay how they want, and not be locked into a certain approach? "Spamming attack" vs. "not spamming attack" isn't something that can affect other mods, so it's just you trying to force a certain type of gameplay on us. C'mon man, give us some freedom.


You have the freedom. It's called Free Software. If TenPlus1 doesn't feel like watering down his mod, you're free to change it yourself. You can complain that you don't like something, but you cannot complain that your freedom is being in any way limited.

Edit: And get off my lawn!
 

redblade7
Member
 
Posts: 101
Joined: Sun Feb 15, 2015 07:14
IRC: redblade7 redblade bleakfire
In-game: redblade7

Re: [Mod] Mobs Redo [1.32] [mobs]

by redblade7 » Sun Oct 30, 2016 05:28

The most recent commits to mobs_animals seems to be spawning a lot more chickens and eggs than usual. Might want to check it out as I've had to do a few clearobjects until I downgraded.
-redblade7
Admin of:

* THE CREATIVE GARDENS (Creative Mode server)
* THE VALLEYS (Sandbox Server)
* THE DIGITAL FARMS (Pizza-like server with protection and emphasis on farming)
 

snoopy
Member
 
Posts: 34
Joined: Thu Oct 20, 2016 16:49

Re: [Mod] Mobs Redo [1.32] [mobs]

by snoopy » Sun Oct 30, 2016 11:45

duane wrote:
abcd_z wrote:EDIT: I mean, isn't that the whole point of mods? Everybody should be free to make the gameplay how they want, and not be locked into a certain approach? "Spamming attack" vs. "not spamming attack" isn't something that can affect other mods, so it's just you trying to force a certain type of gameplay on us. C'mon man, give us some freedom.


You have the freedom. It's called Free Software. If TenPlus1 doesn't feel like watering down his mod, you're free to change it yourself. You can complain that you don't like something, but you cannot complain that your freedom is being in any way limited.

Edit: And get off my lawn!


I would welcome a more friendly discussion. In the above quote I fully agree with the freedom paragraph but not with the two edited statements.

Certainly this mod is well designed and providing lots of options to change the default behavior. I very much appreciate the creative mind of TenPlus1 and the sustainable efforts to improve this excellent mod even further.
Enjoying Minetest by Neoascetic's and Morn76's builds on Mac OS X 10.11.6 clients with local server and several modifications.
 

snoopy
Member
 
Posts: 34
Joined: Thu Oct 20, 2016 16:49

Re: [Mod] Mobs Redo [1.32] [mobs]

by snoopy » Sun Oct 30, 2016 11:57

abcd_z wrote:When I punch an enemy mob (spiders, zombies), it makes the punching noise and the red blood particles, even when I don't actually do any damage. If I didn't have the "HP # of #" to look at I'd spam punch all day long, wondering why it was taking forever to kill the mob. In fact, for enemies that *don't* have that indicator (e.g. mobs underground, esmobs), I had no idea if my attacks were doing any damage or not.


Obviously, there is an option in Minetest where you can display the health status of all damaged mobs. Unfortunately, I am not aware of the name and the way of setting this option but you may ask around.

I am using Neoascetic's and Morn76's builds and this package has some debug options set by default. In our multi-player survival games any mob one hits and all damaged (e.g. starving by hunger) mobs around show a coloured text above their head which informs on the health status. This was introduced in 0.4.14 apparently and I am happy with it so never looked into the details.

I propose you should ask and look around on how to set this standard Minetest option on displaying in game the mob health status and you should set it for all your games.
Enjoying Minetest by Neoascetic's and Morn76's builds on Mac OS X 10.11.6 clients with local server and several modifications.
 

User avatar
duane
Member
 
Posts: 776
Joined: Wed Aug 19, 2015 19:11
GitHub: duane-r

Re: [Mod] Mobs Redo [1.32] [mobs]

by duane » Sun Oct 30, 2016 20:56

duane wrote:Edit: And get off my lawn!


https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/You_kids_get_off_my_lawn!
 

User avatar
TenPlus1
Member
 
Posts: 1874
Joined: Mon Jul 29, 2013 13:38
GitHub: tenplus1

Re: [Mod] Mobs Redo [1.32] [mobs]

by TenPlus1 » Sun Oct 30, 2016 21:08

Updated: Mob damage sound and blood effects will only appear if mob damage is above 1 point (so spamming mob wont play sounds or show blood).
 

abcd_z
Member
 
Posts: 13
Joined: Mon Sep 05, 2011 05:07

Re: [Mod] Mobs Redo [1.32] [mobs]

by abcd_z » Mon Oct 31, 2016 05:25

That works, too. Thank you for addressing my concerns, even if you disagree with my opinions. ;)
 

User avatar
azekill_DIABLO
Member
 
Posts: 3458
Joined: Wed Oct 29, 2014 20:05
GitHub: azekillDIABLO
In-game: azekill_DIABLO

Re: [Mod] Mobs Redo [1.32] [mobs]

by azekill_DIABLO » Mon Oct 31, 2016 15:00

TenPlus1 wrote:Updated: Mob damage sound and blood effects will only appear if mob damage is above 1 point (so spamming mob wont play sounds or show blood).

Just a little question: how about changing the blood system? (check mobpos and add particle around randomly?)
Your phone or window isn't wide enough to display the code box. If it's a phone, try rotating it to landscape mode.
Code: Select all
Hi, my username is azekill_DIABLO and i'm an exelent bug-maker(yeah...i know...i have a bad reputation)

azekill_DIABLO said: Mineyoshi+ABJ+Baggins= TOPIC HIJACKED.
My Mods and Stuff | Voxellar | VoxBox on GITHUB | M.I.L.A Monster engine
WEIRD MODDING CONTEST !!!
 

User avatar
D00Med
Member
 
Posts: 712
Joined: Sat Feb 07, 2015 22:49
GitHub: D00Med

Re: [Mod] Mobs Redo [1.32] [mobs]

by D00Med » Mon Oct 31, 2016 19:32

^could you possibly make the blood fall due to gravity too?, that'd be nice.
Look! I have a signature :]
My subgame: https://forum.minetest.net/viewtopic.php?f=15&t=14051#p207242
dmobs2 is coming...
 

PreviousNext

Return to Mod Releases

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 46 guests