[Mod] Oil Mod [1.1.2] [oil]

User avatar
sfan5
Member
 
Posts: 3636
Joined: Wed Aug 24, 2011 09:44
GitHub: sfan5
IRC: sfan5

[Mod] Oil Mod [1.1.2] [oil]

by sfan5 » Mon Feb 06, 2012 17:28

This Mod adds Oil.
Oil will be generated under Water.
You can use Pumps to pump Oil and you can use Pipes to transport it.
If you build a Refinery you can convert Oil into Fuel Buckets.
You can use the Fuel Buckets as Furnace Fuel.
License: GPLv2
Dependencies: default
==Download==
1.1.2dev: http://dl.dropbox.com/u/30267315/oil1.1.2dev.zip
1.1dev: http://dl.dropbox.com/u/30267315/oil1.1dev.zip
1.0: http://ubuntuone.com/1eG3mMCC5C9Z8ASglywpOj
==Crafting==
Pump:
Image
Pipe:
Image
Refinery:
Image
==Screenshots==
Oil Deposit under Water:
Image
Pump,Pipes and Refinery:
Image
==TODO-List==
  • Pump Fuel through Pipes | Possible with >= 1.1dev
Last edited by sfan5 on Sun Jan 27, 2013 17:28, edited 1 time in total.
Mods: Mesecons | WorldEdit | Nuke
Minetest builds for Windows (32-bit & 64-bit)
 

User avatar
neko259
Member
 
Posts: 769
Joined: Sun Jun 19, 2011 06:51

by neko259 » Mon Feb 06, 2012 17:41

I'm waiting for steampunk to come to minetest :D

Can you make oil power plant for mesecons?
Bitcoin donations: 18r66dJmUjwTmWRTFnorpGMzs8d4B8jzbw
 

User avatar
Jeija
Member
 
Posts: 686
Joined: Fri Dec 23, 2011 21:46

by Jeija » Mon Feb 06, 2012 17:48

Your phone or window isn't wide enough to display the code box. If it's a phone, try rotating it to landscape mode.
Code: Select all
Can you make oil power plant for mesecons?

Working on that...
It will use fuel.
Last edited by Jeija on Mon Feb 06, 2012 17:49, edited 1 time in total.
Redstone for minetest: Mesecons (mesecons.net)
 

User avatar
neko259
Member
 
Posts: 769
Joined: Sun Jun 19, 2011 06:51

by neko259 » Mon Feb 06, 2012 17:50

Working on that...
It will use fuel.

You should make separate downloads for the mesecons itself and plugins for using mesecons with different mods (mesecons-gates, mesecons-oil etc).
Bitcoin donations: 18r66dJmUjwTmWRTFnorpGMzs8d4B8jzbw
 

User avatar
Jeija
Member
 
Posts: 686
Joined: Fri Dec 23, 2011 21:46

by Jeija » Mon Feb 06, 2012 18:25

Yeah that is what I am planning. I think I will also make a mesecons-core pack which only contains the core functions (switches, mesecons itself, pistons, meselamps, inverters (later repeaters);
And also mesecon-standard which contains all mesecons functions without dependencies on other mods.

Well, this is not the mesecons mod topic.
Good Job, sfan5! I think pipes should also be able to transport oil up and down...
And Refineries should add the fuel to their inventory (like chests). I am working on a chest-system for my mesecon-oil generators.
Last edited by Jeija on Mon Feb 06, 2012 18:26, edited 1 time in total.
Redstone for minetest: Mesecons (mesecons.net)
 

User avatar
sfan5
Member
 
Posts: 3636
Joined: Wed Aug 24, 2011 09:44
GitHub: sfan5
IRC: sfan5

by sfan5 » Mon Feb 06, 2012 18:33

Jeija wrote:Yeah that is what I am planning. I think I will also make a mesecons-core pack which only contains the core functions (switches, mesecons itself, pistons, meselamps, inverters (later repeaters);
And also mesecon-standard which contains all mesecons functions without dependencies on other mods.

Well, this is not the mesecons mod topic.
Good Job, sfan5! I think pipes should also be able to transport oil up and down...
And Refineries should add the fuel to their inventory (like chests). I am working on a chest-system for my mesecon-oil generators.

[german]
Später soll der Treibstoff noch durch Pipes gepumpt werden
[/german]
Mods: Mesecons | WorldEdit | Nuke
Minetest builds for Windows (32-bit & 64-bit)
 

User avatar
sfan5
Member
 
Posts: 3636
Joined: Wed Aug 24, 2011 09:44
GitHub: sfan5
IRC: sfan5

by sfan5 » Mon Feb 06, 2012 19:17

Oil Mod 1.1 Preview:
Image
Last edited by sfan5 on Mon Feb 06, 2012 19:21, edited 1 time in total.
Mods: Mesecons | WorldEdit | Nuke
Minetest builds for Windows (32-bit & 64-bit)
 

User avatar
Jeija
Member
 
Posts: 686
Joined: Fri Dec 23, 2011 21:46

by Jeija » Mon Feb 06, 2012 19:24

Can someone help me with the fuel-to-energy-generator?
I am trying to simply create a 1x1 chest you can put fuel in (Or transfer it via pipes);

I'm getting this error when placing the node:

Your phone or window isn't wide enough to display the code box. If it's a phone, try rotating it to landscape mode.
Code: Select all
20:18:28: ERROR[ServerThread]: ERROR: An unhandled exception occurred: LuaError: error: /home/florian/.minetest/usermods/oil/init.lua:536: attempt to call method 'inventory_set_list' (a nil value)


Code:

Your phone or window isn't wide enough to display the code box. If it's a phone, try rotating it to landscape mode.
Code: Select all
minetest.register_node("oil:generator", {
    tile_images = {"default_lava.png"},
    paramtype = "facedir_simple",
    metadata_name = "generic",
    material = minetest.digprop_stonelike(3.0),
})


minetest.register_on_placenode(function(pos, newnode, placer)
    if newnode.name == "oil:generator" then
    local meta = minetest.env:get_meta(pos)
    meta:inventory_set_list("0", {""}) -- THIS LINE SEEMS TO CAUSE THE ERROR
    meta:set_inventory_draw_spec(
        "invsize[8,9;]list[current_name;0;4,4;1,1;]"
        .."list[current_player;main;0,5;8,4;]"
    )
   
    end
end)


Can someone tell me why this doesn't work??? Seems like it cannot get the meta or something like that.
Anyway, Morechests mod works on with the same minetest version and I can't really see any difference.

Are you missing the whole code? Just past the code above behind the oil mod if you want to help finding the bug.

-----------------
Preview looks promising, sfan5!
Last edited by Jeija on Mon Feb 06, 2012 19:25, edited 1 time in total.
Redstone for minetest: Mesecons (mesecons.net)
 

User avatar
sfan5
Member
 
Posts: 3636
Joined: Wed Aug 24, 2011 09:44
GitHub: sfan5
IRC: sfan5

by sfan5 » Mon Feb 06, 2012 20:37

Jeija wrote:Can someone help me with the fuel-to-energy-generator?
I am trying to simply create a 1x1 chest you can put fuel in (Or transfer it via pipes);

I'm getting this error when placing the node:

Your phone or window isn't wide enough to display the code box. If it's a phone, try rotating it to landscape mode.
Code: Select all
20:18:28: ERROR[ServerThread]: ERROR: An unhandled exception occurred: LuaError: error: /home/florian/.minetest/usermods/oil/init.lua:536: attempt to call method 'inventory_set_list' (a nil value)


Code:

Your phone or window isn't wide enough to display the code box. If it's a phone, try rotating it to landscape mode.
Code: Select all
minetest.register_node("oil:generator", {
    tile_images = {"default_lava.png"},
    paramtype = "facedir_simple",
    metadata_name = "generic",
    material = minetest.digprop_stonelike(3.0),
})


minetest.register_on_placenode(function(pos, newnode, placer)
    if newnode.name == "oil:generator" then
    local meta = minetest.env:get_meta(pos)
    meta:inventory_set_list("0", {""}) -- THIS LINE SEEMS TO CAUSE THE ERROR
    meta:set_inventory_draw_spec(
        "invsize[8,9;]list[current_name;0;4,4;1,1;]"
        .."list[current_player;main;0,5;8,4;]"
    )
   
    end
end)


Can someone tell me why this doesn't work??? Seems like it cannot get the meta or something like that.
Anyway, Morechests mod works on with the same minetest version and I can't really see any difference.

Are you missing the whole code? Just past the code above behind the oil mod if you want to help finding the bug.

-----------------
Preview looks promising, sfan5!

Try "... metadata_name: 'chest',"
Mods: Mesecons | WorldEdit | Nuke
Minetest builds for Windows (32-bit & 64-bit)
 

rahonejm
Member
 
Posts: 88
Joined: Wed Dec 28, 2011 01:58

by rahonejm » Mon Feb 06, 2012 22:31

Really enjoyed this mod!
Sorry for possible language mistakes
 

User avatar
dannydark
Member
 
Posts: 428
Joined: Fri Aug 12, 2011 21:28

by dannydark » Mon Feb 06, 2012 23:49

Great mod ^_^ can't wait for the mesecon's support. How long does the oil deposit last? is it infinite or does it run out after some time?

Also I've found a few oil deposits that were just a 1x1 wide above water level and they don't overflow properly (like pictured above) until you build something next to them, is this normal?

EDIT: Nevermind it seems to have just been two of them the rest spread out when I get close ^_^.
Last edited by dannydark on Tue Feb 07, 2012 01:56, edited 1 time in total.
 

User avatar
IPushButton2653
Member
 
Posts: 666
Joined: Wed Nov 16, 2011 22:47

by IPushButton2653 » Tue Feb 07, 2012 00:14

I absolutely love this mod! It's on my server already :D
 

User avatar
dannydark
Member
 
Posts: 428
Joined: Fri Aug 12, 2011 21:28

by dannydark » Tue Feb 07, 2012 00:50

Would it be possible to add rare oil deposits that can be found on land?

EDIT: maybe something like this: http://minecraftbuildcraft.wikia.com/wiki/Oil

Also just put this live on my server and you made a lot of people very happy ^_^ although....I think 2 people are on the verge of war fighting over an oil deposit haha I think its time I add the gun mod.
Last edited by dannydark on Tue Feb 07, 2012 00:54, edited 1 time in total.
 

User avatar
IPushButton2653
Member
 
Posts: 666
Joined: Wed Nov 16, 2011 22:47

by IPushButton2653 » Tue Feb 07, 2012 00:55

It is conflicting with a lot of other mods and bugs that are in my minetest >~<
I think I gotta redownload it and filter through what I do and don't want..........
 

User avatar
dannydark
Member
 
Posts: 428
Joined: Fri Aug 12, 2011 21:28

by dannydark » Tue Feb 07, 2012 01:28

IPushButton2653 wrote:It is conflicting with a lot of other mods and bugs that are in my minetest >~<
I think I gotta redownload it and filter through what I do and don't want..........


What mods is it conflicting with? also any errors in your debug log?
 

User avatar
IPushButton2653
Member
 
Posts: 666
Joined: Wed Nov 16, 2011 22:47

by IPushButton2653 » Tue Feb 07, 2012 01:42

It has to do with the client I'm using. I downloaded the LoZ Temple of Time thing, and it was the whole client. And it had some weird thing in it that disallowed me to do a lot of normal crafting. Fixed now though
 

User avatar
Jeija
Member
 
Posts: 686
Joined: Fri Dec 23, 2011 21:46

by Jeija » Tue Feb 07, 2012 05:31

Sfan 5:
Your phone or window isn't wide enough to display the code box. If it's a phone, try rotating it to landscape mode.
Code: Select all
Try "... metadata_name: 'chest',"


Not working. Morechests and luafurnace also use metadata name 'general' Any other suggestions?
Redstone for minetest: Mesecons (mesecons.net)
 

User avatar
sfan5
Member
 
Posts: 3636
Joined: Wed Aug 24, 2011 09:44
GitHub: sfan5
IRC: sfan5

by sfan5 » Tue Feb 07, 2012 06:17

dannydark wrote:Great mod ^_^ can't wait for the mesecon's support. How long does the oil deposit last? is it infinite or does it run out after some time?

Also I've found a few oil deposits that were just a 1x1 wide above water level and they don't overflow properly (like pictured above) until you build something next to them, is this normal?

EDIT: Nevermind it seems to have just been two of them the rest spread out when I get close ^_^.

This is normal.
Mods: Mesecons | WorldEdit | Nuke
Minetest builds for Windows (32-bit & 64-bit)
 

User avatar
sfan5
Member
 
Posts: 3636
Joined: Wed Aug 24, 2011 09:44
GitHub: sfan5
IRC: sfan5

by sfan5 » Tue Feb 07, 2012 06:22

dannydark wrote:Would it be possible to add rare oil deposits that can be found on land?

EDIT: maybe something like this: http://minecraftbuildcraft.wikia.com/wiki/Oil

Also just put this live on my server and you made a lot of people very happy ^_^ although....I think 2 people are on the verge of war fighting over an oil deposit haha I think its time I add the gun mod.

I'll probably add this in 1.1
Mods: Mesecons | WorldEdit | Nuke
Minetest builds for Windows (32-bit & 64-bit)
 

User avatar
Jordach
Member
 
Posts: 4412
Joined: Mon Oct 03, 2011 17:58
GitHub: Jordach
IRC: Jordach
In-game: Jordach

by Jordach » Tue Feb 07, 2012 08:03

can't we just have a oil rush and old western texture pack, so it could be like cowboys looking for black gold.

so it can be themed.

( ͡° ͜ʖ ͡°) ( ͡o ͜ʖ ͡o) [$ ( ͡° ͜ʖ ͡°) $] ( ͡$ ͜ʖ ͡$) ヽ༼ຈل͜ຈ༽ノ



My image and media server is back online and is functioning as normal.
 

User avatar
sfan5
Member
 
Posts: 3636
Joined: Wed Aug 24, 2011 09:44
GitHub: sfan5
IRC: sfan5

by sfan5 » Tue Feb 07, 2012 18:41

New Preview Picture:
Image
Mods: Mesecons | WorldEdit | Nuke
Minetest builds for Windows (32-bit & 64-bit)
 

User avatar
dannydark
Member
 
Posts: 428
Joined: Fri Aug 12, 2011 21:28

by dannydark » Tue Feb 07, 2012 20:27

Ah man I can't wait ^_^

I wish we had the ability to add custom interfaces via lua so we could have a type of generator that would work like a furnace but would have a fuel level gauge :D
 

User avatar
RabbiBob
Member
 
Posts: 335
Joined: Sat Jan 28, 2012 22:40

by RabbiBob » Wed Feb 08, 2012 02:28

 

User avatar
sfan5
Member
 
Posts: 3636
Joined: Wed Aug 24, 2011 09:44
GitHub: sfan5
IRC: sfan5

by sfan5 » Wed Feb 08, 2012 05:55

Thanks!
Mods: Mesecons | WorldEdit | Nuke
Minetest builds for Windows (32-bit & 64-bit)
 

rahonejm
Member
 
Posts: 88
Joined: Wed Dec 28, 2011 01:58

by rahonejm » Wed Feb 08, 2012 14:58

New release! Oh man it's going to be awesome!
Sorry for possible language mistakes
 

User avatar
RAPHAEL
Member
 
Posts: 627
Joined: Tue Nov 01, 2011 09:09

by RAPHAEL » Wed Feb 08, 2012 16:49

Nice mod but the oil pump doesn't work if you aren't nearby. I did some testing of the mod and it seems if you have a rather long oil pipeline, and wait at the refinery it dries up. If you go over to the pump it begins pumping again. So if that isn't changed, long pipelines won't happen lol.
"Before you speak, ask yourself: Is it kind, is it true, is it necessary, does it improve upon the silence?"
My mods: http://goo.gl/n4kpn
(Currently Various, Industrial, Fakeblocks, Jail, MoarCraft, Christmas, Replicator, minetest dev installer for linux, bash mod installer, windows mod installer)
 

User avatar
Jeija
Member
 
Posts: 686
Joined: Fri Dec 23, 2011 21:46

by Jeija » Wed Feb 08, 2012 17:47

I think this is caused by minetest itself. It only calls the ABM function that pumps the oil if players are nearby.
Btw I created Mesecon Energy Generators, but there still seems to be a bug in the game itself (once again ^^), so that it cannot really produce energy. If someone is interested, this is the bug: Forum Post
Redstone for minetest: Mesecons (mesecons.net)
 

User avatar
IPushButton2653
Member
 
Posts: 666
Joined: Wed Nov 16, 2011 22:47

by IPushButton2653 » Wed Feb 08, 2012 23:36

Jordach wrote:can't we just have a oil rush and old western texture pack, so it could be like cowboys looking for black gold.

so it can be themed.

I could probably easily put a monochrome effect on the textures and it'd look like the west :D
Because I am a fan of old western movies
 

User avatar
MirceaKitsune
Member
 
Posts: 809
Joined: Sat May 21, 2011 22:31
GitHub: MirceaKitsune
IRC: Taoki
In-game: MirceaKitsune

by MirceaKitsune » Fri Feb 17, 2012 19:45

Wow, awesome mod! Someone linked this in a thread I made, in which I'm looking to start a Buildcraft variant for Minetest. This looks like a basic feature that would be part of such a mod (not sure if what you plan to do next is the same thing). Anyway, I thought you'd like to know... since if you plan to add support engines, item pipes, and machines that build / mine, that pretty becomes what I'm looking for :)
 

User avatar
sfan5
Member
 
Posts: 3636
Joined: Wed Aug 24, 2011 09:44
GitHub: sfan5
IRC: sfan5

by sfan5 » Mon Mar 19, 2012 13:32

Update!
Changelog:
  • Updated for Digging-Time Groups
  • Added Glass Fibre Cable and Energy Converter
Note: I won't update the Main Post with the Crafting Receipes and the Uses, beacause this a Dev-Release
Mods: Mesecons | WorldEdit | Nuke
Minetest builds for Windows (32-bit & 64-bit)
 

Next

Return to Old Mods

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests

cron