Server Terminal

trev

In-game: trev

Server Terminal

by trev » Sun Aug 14, 2016 00:01

Hello. Hopefully this is in the right place. This is my first topic.

I see on the changelog for 0.4.14 that an ncurses server terminal was added. I have basic knowledge of what ncurses is, but I don't really understand what changed. I thought that the update was adding a terminal that you could type commands into while running. However, this hasn't worked for me. Is the feature what I thought it was? If so, am I doing something incorrectly? I am typing into stdin on gnome-terminal, then pressing enter. It does capture the input, but after return it prints newlines rather than, say *Issued Command... I am starting to think that I completely don't get what the ncurses addition was.

I have compiled the latest git recently. Ubuntu 14.04.

tl;dr: What does the changelog entry "Add server side ncurses terminal" mean?
Do what you love, and you will love what you do! :)

ExeterDad

In-game: ExeterDad

Re: Server Terminal

by ExeterDad » Sun Aug 14, 2016 01:23

I don't know all that can be done from the server terminal, but it's very useful.
If you launch with the --terminal option, it will look very much like just running minetest server from the terminal. But.. now you can run commands, chat, shutdown or control the server.
So if you have your name in the minetest.conf as owner, you can /Hello everyone (chat) as your name that all can see, but you are not logged in as a player. You can ban people, kick them, grant privs. You can do server commands. I don't know the limitations of the commands you may do, but I believe you can do the largest percentage of commands as you would from chat, if you were logged in as a player. Obviously teleporting yourself as your character is not actually in world to teleport.