Freely licensed texture packages?

MirceaKitsune

GitHub: MirceaKitsune
IRC: Taoki
In-game: MirceaKitsune

Freely licensed texture packages?

by MirceaKitsune » Wed Aug 13, 2014 23:39

I want to eventually create a game with a different style than existing Minetest games... including different textures. I'm not a texture artist however, and all good texture packages for Minetest don't specify a license or are not free to use. Obviously I'll want freely licensed textures, and hopefully something of a good quality and with a consistent style.

I wanted to ask if there are any exceptions: Do you know any quality texture packages for Minetest, which are under a free license (except CC-*-NC or CC-*-ND)? Given that Minetest is itself open-source, I am surprised this proving such a difficult task... but I'm sure there must be a few good ones out there.

In terms of resolution, anything equal or above x16 is okay for me. In terms of style, I'm looking for something rustic if anything... such as John Smith's texture package (for which I'm struggling to find out the license with no success whatsoever). Feel free to link anything that counts though.

philipbenr

GitHub: philipbenr
IRC: philipbenr
In-game: WisdomFire or philipbenr

Re: Freely licensed texture packages?

by philipbenr » Thu Aug 14, 2014 05:39

I'll be releasing a alpha version of my subgame eventually. The game has 32px graphics which I think are all really awesome. That may be just me. Anyhoo, I'll post it a bit later. As for the license, it is GPLv3. I hope that is free enough for you...

https://www.dropbox.com/s/3vk9xock2ujcrul/textures.zip

These are the default textures. I haven't gotten any others done, so take a look at these for now.

As I said, these are all GPLv3, and my own (other than the incomplete ones... : / )
If you like how they look, I'd be happy to finish the rest and let you use them. That is why I used GPL.

I'm not quite sure if it is rustic, but it fits well in my game...

Calinou