[Debian / Ubuntu] 1-line script: install Minetest Git

thetoon
Member
 
Posts: 106
Joined: Tue Dec 11, 2012 12:55

by thetoon » Fri Feb 21, 2014 09:38

grey wrote:Normally the Raspberry Pi is more than capable of running 3D games, including Minecraft. Though I like Minetest a whole lot better than Minecraft. If anyone know's what I should do here, please tell me!


The Pi is rather capable, but as far as I know it doesn't speak OpenGL, but rather OpenGL ES. These are two related, but different, way of dealing with 3d things.

A way of making Minetest Pi-compatible would be to port it to OpenGL ES, or more precisely to lay upon Irrlicht ogl-es, as soon as it's working.

There's a branch here, if anyone feels like it : https://github.com/kizzx2/irrlicht-ogl-es

Please note that some people predict OpenGL will slowly die and ES will prevail. So it might be useful for normal desktops too, in the end.
 

User avatar
sfan5
Member
 
Posts: 3636
Joined: Wed Aug 24, 2011 09:44
GitHub: sfan5
IRC: sfan5

by sfan5 » Fri Feb 21, 2014 13:18

thetoon wrote:
grey wrote:Normally the Raspberry Pi is more than capable of running 3D games, including Minecraft. Though I like Minetest a whole lot better than Minecraft. If anyone know's what I should do here, please tell me!


The Pi is rather capable, but as far as I know it doesn't speak OpenGL, but rather OpenGL ES. These are two related, but different, way of dealing with 3d things.

A way of making Minetest Pi-compatible would be to port it to OpenGL ES, or more precisely to lay upon Irrlicht ogl-es, as soon as it's working.

There's a branch here, if anyone feels like it : https://github.com/kizzx2/irrlicht-ogl-es

Please note that some people predict OpenGL will slowly die and ES will prevail. So it might be useful for normal desktops too, in the end.

There is a working irrlicht ogl-es listed here:
http://irrlicht.sourceforge.net/contributing/

I tried compiling Minetest on the Raspberry Pi and it resulted in tons of linking errors.
Mods: Mesecons | WorldEdit | Nuke
Minetest builds for Windows (32-bit & 64-bit)
 

Hiradur
Member
 
Posts: 26
Joined: Sat Feb 22, 2014 17:44

by Hiradur » Sun Mar 02, 2014 17:10

Minetest 0.3.1 is in the Raspbian repository. So somebody was able to compile it. But it only uses the software renderer I think.
 

kaurdump
New member
 
Posts: 9
Joined: Tue Jul 02, 2013 20:36

by kaurdump » Mon Mar 03, 2014 14:49

thanks for this! could someone recommend a one-line script to update this method of install? i use the portable method.
 

User avatar
Calinou
Member
 
Posts: 3124
Joined: Mon Aug 01, 2011 14:26
GitHub: Calinou
IRC: Calinou
In-game: Calinou

by Calinou » Mon Mar 03, 2014 16:17

kaurdump wrote:thanks for this! could someone recommend a one-line script to update this method of install? i use the portable method.


Use this:
Your phone or window isn't wide enough to display the code box. If it's a phone, try rotating it to landscape mode.
Code: Select all
cd ~/minetest; git pull; cd src; make -j4
 

kaurdump
New member
 
Posts: 9
Joined: Tue Jul 02, 2013 20:36

by kaurdump » Tue Mar 04, 2014 00:30

Calinou wrote:
kaurdump wrote:thanks for this! could someone recommend a one-line script to update this method of install? i use the portable method.


Use this:
Your phone or window isn't wide enough to display the code box. If it's a phone, try rotating it to landscape mode.
Code: Select all
cd ~/minetest; git pull; cd src; make -j4


Merci!
 

testOmine
New member
 
Posts: 9
Joined: Fri Feb 28, 2014 19:10

by testOmine » Wed Mar 05, 2014 22:07

Thank You - I spend hours on 0.4.7.

. . . . . now I restart the PC . . . .

. . . .
Last edited by testOmine on Wed Mar 05, 2014 22:29, edited 1 time in total.
 

kaurdump
New member
 
Posts: 9
Joined: Tue Jul 02, 2013 20:36

by kaurdump » Mon Mar 10, 2014 16:27

where should the minetest config file be located in the portable install?
 

grey
Member
 
Posts: 19
Joined: Fri Jan 03, 2014 18:51

by grey » Wed Apr 02, 2014 13:01

Calinou wrote:
kaurdump wrote:thanks for this! could someone recommend a one-line script to update this method of install? i use the portable method.


Use this:
Your phone or window isn't wide enough to display the code box. If it's a phone, try rotating it to landscape mode.
Code: Select all
cd ~/minetest; git pull; cd src; make -j4


Would it be the same for a non-portable install? Or would just runing the whole script over again just work?
Lay back and feel the wind on your skin ~ http://afternoon.heliohost.org
 

User avatar
Calinou
Member
 
Posts: 3124
Joined: Mon Aug 01, 2011 14:26
GitHub: Calinou
IRC: Calinou
In-game: Calinou

by Calinou » Thu Apr 03, 2014 08:32

It's the same, regardless of portable or not, since the game data is located in ~/minetest.
 

grey
Member
 
Posts: 19
Joined: Fri Jan 03, 2014 18:51

by grey » Thu Apr 17, 2014 16:42

If one wanted to update Minetest, would we just run the same command again?
Lay back and feel the wind on your skin ~ http://afternoon.heliohost.org
 

User avatar
PilzAdam
Member
 
Posts: 4026
Joined: Fri Jul 20, 2012 16:19
GitHub: PilzAdam
IRC: PilzAdam

by PilzAdam » Thu Apr 17, 2014 17:03

grey wrote:If one wanted to update Minetest, would we just run the same command again?

No, you dont have to install the dependencies again and you dont have to clone again. Just git pull in the repo of the engine and minetest_game and run cmake and make again.
 

User avatar
sfan5
Member
 
Posts: 3636
Joined: Wed Aug 24, 2011 09:44
GitHub: sfan5
IRC: sfan5

by sfan5 » Thu Apr 17, 2014 17:43

PilzAdam wrote:
grey wrote:If one wanted to update Minetest, would we just run the same command again?

No, you dont have to install the dependencies again and you dont have to clone again. Just git pull in the repo of the engine and minetest_game and run cmake and make again.

You only need to run make, if the build files are changed CMake is automatically run again.
Mods: Mesecons | WorldEdit | Nuke
Minetest builds for Windows (32-bit & 64-bit)
 

Hiradur
Member
 
Posts: 26
Joined: Sat Feb 22, 2014 17:44

Re: One-line script for installing Minetest Git, Debian-base

by Hiradur » Wed Jun 11, 2014 15:59

One can slightly improve performane by adding
Your phone or window isn't wide enough to display the code box. If it's a phone, try rotating it to landscape mode.
Code: Select all
-DCMAKE_CXX_FLAGS="-march=native -O3 -pipe"

to cmake arguments. This should especially increase performance on AMD bulldozer based systems.

Note that -pipe only increases compile speed but does not optimize anything. If your compiler goes out of memory then remove -pipe. If your game runs unstable then try -O2 instead of -O3. From my testing -O3 seems to be stable though.
 

User avatar
lightonflux
Member
 
Posts: 384
Joined: Mon Nov 11, 2013 07:22
In-game: lof

Re: 1-line script for installing Minetest Git, Debian-based

by lightonflux » Mon Jul 21, 2014 03:16

If you need to update several git repo (mods and games etc.), then you can use this line:

Your phone or window isn't wide enough to display the code box. If it's a phone, try rotating it to landscape mode.
Code: Select all
alias rgit='find . -type d -name .git -exec sh -c "cd \"{}\"/../ && pwd && git pull" \;'
to register the rgit alias which will search recursive for git repos and "update" them.



And also the following alias to update and compile minetest.


Your phone or window isn't wide enough to display the code box. If it's a phone, try rotating it to landscape mode.
Code: Select all
minetest-dev-update='cd ~/.minetest-dev && pwd && time rgit && time cmake . -DRUN_IN_PLACE=1 -DENABLE_GETTEXT=1 && time make -j2 && echo Done'
Last edited by lightonflux on Tue Jul 22, 2014 13:28, edited 1 time in total.
 

User avatar
philipbenr
Member
 
Posts: 1665
Joined: Fri Jun 14, 2013 01:56
GitHub: philipbenr
IRC: philipbenr
In-game: WisdomFire or philipbenr

Re: 1-line script for installing Minetest Git, Debian-based

by philipbenr » Tue Jul 22, 2014 00:02

I have a script that is really nice to use. (I use Slackware 14.0, not Ubuntu or anything like that...Anyhow, here :)

Your phone or window isn't wide enough to display the code box. If it's a phone, try rotating it to landscape mode.
Code: Select all
cd minetest
start=`pwd`
for path in `find -name ".git"`; do
  cd $path/..
  echo "updating " $(basename `pwd`)
  git pull
done

echo "building updates"
cd $start
make -j4


This script automatically updates anything you used the git http clone for:
+ "Have to use this: (very big; on accident)"

Put this in a .sh file and run chmod +x filenameyoucalledit.sh
Have it outside your minetest dir and try it; if you met the requirements...

Edit:

Requirements:
Used the git clone function
Compiled MT from source
All mods you want auto updated were downloaded using git clone.
Have this file executable
Outside main minetest dir
You use linux...(Don't know which distro)

That should do it.
 

User avatar
Inocudom
Member
 
Posts: 2889
Joined: Sat Sep 29, 2012 01:14
IRC: Inocudom
In-game: Inocudom

Re: 1-line script for installing Minetest Git, Debian-based

by Inocudom » Tue Jul 29, 2014 03:38

The master server list does not show up, but everthing else is fine.
 

User avatar
Krock
Member
 
Posts: 3598
Joined: Thu Oct 03, 2013 07:48
GitHub: SmallJoker

Re: 1-line script for installing Minetest Git, Debian-based

by Krock » Tue Jul 29, 2014 07:55

Inocudom wrote:The master server list does not show up, but everthing else is fine.

Seems like someone forgot the curl library.
Newest Win32 builds - Find a mod - All my mods
ALL YOUR DONATION ARE BELONG TO PARAMAT (Please support him and Minetest)
New DuckDuckGo !bang: !mtmod <keyword here>
 

User avatar
Calinou
Member
 
Posts: 3124
Joined: Mon Aug 01, 2011 14:26
GitHub: Calinou
IRC: Calinou
In-game: Calinou

Re: [Debian/Ubuntu] 1-line script: install Minetest Git

by Calinou » Sun Nov 23, 2014 08:30

Builds now support LevelDB.
 

User avatar
Gael de Sailly
Member
 
Posts: 475
Joined: Sun Jan 26, 2014 17:01
GitHub: Gael-de-Sailly
IRC: Gael-de-Sailly
In-game: Gael-de-Sailly

Re: [Debian / Ubuntu] 1-line script: install Minetest Git

by Gael de Sailly » Fri Dec 26, 2014 09:59

I think this topic should be always at the head of the list.
 

User avatar
indriApollo
Member
 
Posts: 144
Joined: Fri Sep 26, 2014 11:34
GitHub: indriApollo
IRC: indriApollo
In-game: SudoAptGetPlay

Re: [Debian / Ubuntu] 1-line script: install Minetest Git

by indriApollo » Mon Dec 29, 2014 12:41

When launching minetest via 'minetest' in a terminal (as the Exec in minetest.desktop) the game crashes when I try to display the server list.
Your phone or window isn't wide enough to display the code box. If it's a phone, try rotating it to landscape mode.
Code: Select all
Irrlicht log: Irrlicht Engine version 1.8.1
Irrlicht log: Linux 3.16.0-28-generic #38-Ubuntu SMP Fri Dec 12 17:37:40 UTC 2014 x86_64
Irrlicht log: Using renderer: OpenGL 4.4.0
Irrlicht log: GeForce GTX 650/PCIe/SSE2: NVIDIA Corporation
Irrlicht log: OpenGL driver version is 1.2 or better.
Irrlicht log: GLSL version: 4.4
terminate called after throwing an instance of 'LuaError'
  what():  C++ exception
Abandon (core dumped)



GDB output :
Your phone or window isn't wide enough to display the code box. If it's a phone, try rotating it to landscape mode.
Code: Select all
[Thread 0x7fffdd7fb700 (LWP 6700) exited]
terminate called after throwing an instance of 'LuaError'
  what():  C++ exception

Program received signal SIGABRT, Aborted.
[Switching to Thread 0x7fffdf7fe700 (LWP 6697)]
0x00007ffff50fbd27 in __GI_raise (sig=sig@entry=6)
    at ../nptl/sysdeps/unix/sysv/linux/raise.c:56
56   ../nptl/sysdeps/unix/sysv/linux/raise.c: Aucun fichier ou dossier de ce type.


I have no problems however with :
Your phone or window isn't wide enough to display the code box. If it's a phone, try rotating it to landscape mode.
Code: Select all
cd /home/me/minetest/bin
./minetest
 

User avatar
indriApollo
Member
 
Posts: 144
Joined: Fri Sep 26, 2014 11:34
GitHub: indriApollo
IRC: indriApollo
In-game: SudoAptGetPlay

Re: [Debian / Ubuntu] 1-line script: install Minetest Git

by indriApollo » Tue Jan 06, 2015 11:34

Nevermind : I had two minetest installs, one from the repo and the self compiled one. The repo version launched via 'minetet' is outdated.
 

User avatar
Minetestforfun
Member
 
Posts: 936
Joined: Tue Aug 05, 2014 14:09
GitHub: Darcidride
IRC: Darcidride + MinetestForFun
In-game: Darcidride + MinetestForFun

Re: [Debian / Ubuntu] 1-line script: install Minetest Git

by Minetestforfun » Thu Jan 22, 2015 21:40

Hi,

The package "libluajit-5.1-dev" seems to have problems...

Your phone or window isn't wide enough to display the code box. If it's a phone, try rotating it to landscape mode.
Code: Select all
root@Terre:/Applications# apt-get install git build-essential libirrlicht-dev libgettextpo0 libfreetype6-dev cmake libbz2-dev libpng12-dev libjpeg8-dev libxxf86vm-dev libgl1-mesa-dev libsqlite3-dev libogg-dev libvorbis-dev libopenal-dev libcurl4-openssl-dev libluajit-5.1-dev liblua5.1-0-dev libleveldb-dev
Lecture des listes de paquets... Fait
Construction de l'arbre des dépendances       
Lecture des informations d'état... Fait
E: Impossible de trouver le paquet libluajit-5.1-dev
E: Impossible de trouver de paquet correspondant à l'expression rationnelle « libluajit-5.1-dev »
root@Terre:/Applications#


Your phone or window isn't wide enough to display the code box. If it's a phone, try rotating it to landscape mode.
Code: Select all
root@Terre:/Applications# uname -a
Linux Terre 3.2.0-4-amd64 #1 SMP Debian 3.2.65-1+deb7u1 x86_64 GNU/Linux
 

User avatar
Calinou
Member
 
Posts: 3124
Joined: Mon Aug 01, 2011 14:26
GitHub: Calinou
IRC: Calinou
In-game: Calinou

Re: [Debian / Ubuntu] 1-line script: install Minetest Git

by Calinou » Fri Jan 23, 2015 17:12

Minetestforfun wrote:Hi,

The package "libluajit-5.1-dev" seems to have problems...


It looks like Debian wheezy does not have it (only in wheezy-backports, jessie and sid).
 

User avatar
Minetestforfun
Member
 
Posts: 936
Joined: Tue Aug 05, 2014 14:09
GitHub: Darcidride
IRC: Darcidride + MinetestForFun
In-game: Darcidride + MinetestForFun

Re: [Debian / Ubuntu] 1-line script: install Minetest Git

by Minetestforfun » Fri Jan 23, 2015 17:19

Yes,

It solved my problem. I installed Minetest on a fresh and new Debian computer, and i haven't added contrib, non-free, backports repository to my sources.list

Thank you ;)
Last edited by Minetestforfun on Mon Oct 26, 2015 10:47, edited 1 time in total.
 

superschizo
Member
 
Posts: 109
Joined: Mon Aug 26, 2013 17:08

Re: [Debian / Ubuntu] 1-line script: install Minetest Git

by superschizo » Sun Feb 01, 2015 20:09

Thank you for a way to install the current minetest 0.4.11 in ubuntu 14.10.

In my ubuntu 14.10 64 bit, this doesn't install a launch icon for minetest in the menu bar or search applications function. I can launch minetest by terminal, but I'm not sure my 7 year old will remember the steps or even have terminal access in his standard profile. Is there a way to place a launch icon for minetest on the desktop or menu bar?
 

User avatar
everamzah
Member
 
Posts: 490
Joined: Thu Jan 29, 2015 00:47
GitHub: everamzah
IRC: everamzah
In-game: everamzah

Re: [Debian / Ubuntu] 1-line script: install Minetest Git

by everamzah » Mon Feb 02, 2015 00:02

You can make a .desktop file in ~/.local/share/applications. http://standards.freedesktop.org/desktop-entry-spec/latest/apa.html
 

roalex543
Member
 
Posts: 20
Joined: Mon Dec 15, 2014 00:04
In-game: android692

Re:

by roalex543 » Tue Feb 10, 2015 01:09

kaeza wrote:Cool thing. Gonna try it :)

y esta script donde se debe poner o que? no se mucho ingles :/
 

superschizo
Member
 
Posts: 109
Joined: Mon Aug 26, 2013 17:08

Re: Re:

by superschizo » Fri Feb 13, 2015 16:55

roalex543 wrote:
kaeza wrote:Cool thing. Gonna try it :)

y esta script donde se debe poner o que? no se mucho ingles :/

No comprende espanol bien, pero si yo comprende esta entonces esta script poner en "Terminal"
 

superschizo
Member
 
Posts: 109
Joined: Mon Aug 26, 2013 17:08

Re: [Debian / Ubuntu] 1-line script: install Minetest Git

by superschizo » Fri Feb 13, 2015 17:30

I noticed with the installation of minetest with this script on a fresh installation of Ubuntu 14.10 is that it won't work if the folders don't yet exist. I had to install the old minetest in the normal fashion, remove it with the Ubuntu software center, and then run this script again to make it work.

As for a desktop icon, I had to go to Home/minetest/bin, right click the minetest application, and then copy it to the desktop.
 

PreviousNext

Return to Minetest Builds

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests

cron