Sliding door mod

AutiCoder

In-game: AutiCoder

Sliding door mod

by AutiCoder » Sat Sep 06, 2014 09:36

Hi i'm thinking about a mod with sliding door(s) .
The idea is to take a door ( wood , metal , glass ) and make it slide to a side instead of turning open.
I was looking at the code of some door mods , but it's still hard to figure out how the node handling works .
( i'm new to lua ) .
Can someone explain to me how you control movement of nodes in lua ?
Thx
"Think , create , test , fail , and repeat until you succeed "

kaeza

GitHub: kaeza
IRC: kaeza diemartin blaaaaargh
In-game: kaeza

Re: Sliding door mod

by kaeza » Sat Sep 06, 2014 10:19

Nodes are a static part of the environment, so they can't "move".

Your options would be "faking" node movement by removing the "closed" sliding door, use an entity to animate the door, and add the "open" sliding door, or ditch animation completely and simply provide "open" and "closed" variants ("moving" a node in this case is done by removing the node at one position and adding it at another; needless to say, this does not have a "smooth" animation).

P.S: "I" "like" "quotes".
Your signature is not the place for a blog post. Please keep it as concise as possible. Thank you!

Check out my stuff! | Donations greatly appreciated! PayPal | BTC: 1DFZAa5VtNG7Levux4oP6BuUzr1e83pJK2

Evergreen

GitHub: 4Evergreen4
IRC: EvergreenTree
In-game: Evergreen

by Evergreen » Sat Sep 06, 2014 11:35

kaeza wrote:Nodes are a static part of the environment, so they can't "move".

Your options would be "faking" node movement by removing the "closed" sliding door, use an entity to animate the door, and add the "open" sliding door, or ditch animation completely and simply provide "open" and "closed" variants ("moving" a node in this case is done by removing the node at one position and adding it at another; needless to say, this does not have a "smooth" animation).

P.S: "I" "like" "quotes".