What are the limits of the "override" function?

TumeniNodes

GitHub: TumeniNodes

What are the limits of the "override" function?

by TumeniNodes » Tue Jan 10, 2017 12:45

I just threw the start of an experiment together least night, as a WIP mod.

I fully realize what is done in the mod is not a big deal, it was just to get an idea of how override works.

But, the main goal, is to find out if there is a way to implement one of two functions I have been thinking about.
I am not a coder or skilled at it so, I am hoping I will be able to get the attention/help with this of someone who is..., if they think my ideas might be possible.

So, here are two things I have been thinking about...

We can use override in a mod to "override" some functions and textures... The textures part is what I'm interested in.

So, #1. Is it possible to use the same (or similar) form which MC does... using meta.txt, per animated texture within a normal TP folder format, as we use now...
or...
#2. is it possible to create a mod which has some animated textures, with an init.lua set up for those animations functions, and then actually use some code to literally override default/textures folder, with the mods texture folder? Rather than needing to create a mod where you need to use a lot of code to literally override every single texture in default?

I hope my questions make sense the way I wrote them, if not please let me know. And I truly hope that one of these ideas is doable, because I think this would bring a lot of fresh ideas, and really cool packs, TP-wise

There may be other ways I am overlooking which are simpler or doable as well...

That's it... if anyone can shed light for me regarding this, or is interested in exploiting the ideas let me know. Thanks : )
Flick?... Flick who?

rubenwardy

GitHub: rubenwardy
IRC: rubenwardy
In-game: rubenwardy

Re: What are the limits of the "override" function?

by rubenwardy » Tue Jan 10, 2017 13:20