Items stackable by 100 ?

What stack_max would you prefer ?

99 (current)
5
16%
100 (for easier calculation)
24
75%
< 99
2
6%
> 100
1
3%
 
Total votes : 32

prestidigitator
Member
 
Posts: 632
Joined: Thu Feb 21, 2013 23:54

Re: Items stackable by 100 ?

by prestidigitator » Wed Apr 08, 2015 00:45

It could be done in straight Lua mod code. Wrap (replace) the appropriate 'register_*()' functions and have them add a 'stack_max' value to item definitions if one is not present. Likewise modify definitions already added to the 'minetest.registered_items', table to cover items registered before the mod is initialized. Something like:

Your phone or window isn't wide enough to display the code box. If it's a phone, try rotating it to landscape mode.
Code: Select all
local DEFAULT_STACK_MAX = 128;

local function wrapRegFunc(funcName)
   local wrapped = minetest[funcName];
   minetest[funcName] =
      function(name, def, ...)
         if def.stack_max == nil then def.stack_max = DEFAULT_STACK_MAX; end;
         return wrapped(name, def, ...);
      end;
end;
wrapRegFunc('register_node');
wrapRegFunc('register_craftitem');
wrapRegFunc('register_tool');

for _, def in pairs(minetest.registered_items) do
  if def.stack_max == nil then def.stack_max = DEFAULT_STACK_MAX; end;
end;
 

User avatar
rubenwardy
Member
 
Posts: 4500
Joined: Tue Jun 12, 2012 18:11
GitHub: rubenwardy
IRC: rubenwardy
In-game: rubenwardy

Re: Items stackable by 100 ?

by rubenwardy » Wed Apr 08, 2015 03:56

I was talking about the pull request I did a few months ago, that hasn't been merged:

https://github.com/minetest/minetest/pull/1843
 

prestidigitator
Member
 
Posts: 632
Joined: Thu Feb 21, 2013 23:54

Re: Items stackable by 100 ?

by prestidigitator » Wed Apr 08, 2015 04:49

Sure. I'm just always looking for mod-based workarounds. I've found participating in contributions to official code rather unfriendly and unappealing myself, so the more people can do for themselves from Lua, the better.
 

ABJ
Member
 
Posts: 2344
Joined: Sun Jan 18, 2015 13:02
GitHub: ABJ-MV
In-game: ABJ

Re: Items stackable by 100 ?

by ABJ » Thu Apr 09, 2015 16:14

rubenwardy wrote:
Hybrid Dog wrote:there should be a setting called "default_stack_max"


What a great idea! Who would code such a thing?

55noreleC
 

User avatar
rubenwardy
Member
 
Posts: 4500
Joined: Tue Jun 12, 2012 18:11
GitHub: rubenwardy
IRC: rubenwardy
In-game: rubenwardy

Re: Items stackable by 100 ?

by rubenwardy » Thu Apr 09, 2015 19:13

ABJ wrote:
rubenwardy wrote:
Hybrid Dog wrote:there should be a setting called "default_stack_max"


What a great idea! Who would code such a thing?

55noreleC


celeron55 doesn't work on Minetest any more. I was talking about how I've already done it.
 

Hybrid Dog
Member
 
Posts: 2460
Joined: Thu Nov 01, 2012 12:46

Re: Items stackable by 100 ?

by Hybrid Dog » Thu Apr 09, 2015 19:49

rubenwardy wrote:celeron55 doesn't work on Minetest any more.

https://github.com/minetest/minetest/co ... =celeron55
 

User avatar
rubenwardy
Member
 
Posts: 4500
Joined: Tue Jun 12, 2012 18:11
GitHub: rubenwardy
IRC: rubenwardy
In-game: rubenwardy

Re: Items stackable by 100 ?

by rubenwardy » Thu Apr 09, 2015 20:00

Before the small commit in feb, the last one was ten months ago. Compare that to zeno, pilzadam, or even me. Point proven.

Celeron55 has even said in IRC that he doesn't want to work on Minetest anymore, but wants to work on other projects.
 

User avatar
Linuxdirk
Member
 
Posts: 497
Joined: Wed Sep 17, 2014 11:21
GitHub: dsohler
In-game: Linuxdirk

Re: Items stackable by 100 ?

by Linuxdirk » Thu Apr 09, 2015 20:59

rubenwardy wrote:I was talking about the pull request I did a few months ago, that hasn't been merged:

There are a lot of good pull requests that fix bugs, enhance the game or tweak the visuals that aren’t merged even if they could be automatically merged – but that’s another topic :)
 

ABJ
Member
 
Posts: 2344
Joined: Sun Jan 18, 2015 13:02
GitHub: ABJ-MV
In-game: ABJ

Re: Items stackable by 100 ?

by ABJ » Fri Apr 10, 2015 11:14

rubenwardy wrote:celeron55 doesn't work on Minetest any more. I was talking about how I've already done it.

Doesn't he? That's weird. Then who does? PilzAdam & Co?
Now I know why it's no longer called Minetest-c55
 

User avatar
Gael de Sailly
Member
 
Posts: 475
Joined: Sun Jan 26, 2014 17:01
GitHub: Gael-de-Sailly
IRC: Gael-de-Sailly
In-game: Gael-de-Sailly

Re: Items stackable by 100 ?

by Gael de Sailly » Fri Apr 10, 2015 12:13

ABJ wrote:Then who does? PilzAdam & Co?

It's a big community who works on the core : nerzuhl (nrz), est31, Zeno`, kwolekr, paramat, and others.
Complete list of contributors
Very busy this year too, so do not expect me to be very active on the forum or in game. But I'm not about to drop Minetest forever :)
 

ABJ
Member
 
Posts: 2344
Joined: Sun Jan 18, 2015 13:02
GitHub: ABJ-MV
In-game: ABJ

Re: Items stackable by 100 ?

by ABJ » Fri Apr 10, 2015 13:05

Gael de Sailly wrote:It's a big community who works on the core

You mean like anybody can contribute?
BTW it's nice to have the OP reply for once :D
 

User avatar
Gael de Sailly
Member
 
Posts: 475
Joined: Sun Jan 26, 2014 17:01
GitHub: Gael-de-Sailly
IRC: Gael-de-Sailly
In-game: Gael-de-Sailly

Re: Items stackable by 100 ?

by Gael de Sailly » Fri Apr 10, 2015 13:59

Anybody on Github can contribute, by making pull requests, and trusted developers can directly push their changes in the repository (minetest/minetest)

The core is mostly written in C++, except the builtin directory which is Lua.
Mods are fully written in Lua.

It's not the topic, so if you want to talk more specifically about it, I advise you to open a new topic.
Very busy this year too, so do not expect me to be very active on the forum or in game. But I'm not about to drop Minetest forever :)
 

trukoil
Member
 
Posts: 145
Joined: Mon Oct 22, 2012 03:32

Re: Items stackable by 100 ?

by trukoil » Thu Jul 02, 2015 17:20

I recall to have a setting in minetest.conf that enabled going over 99 items in stack, used to max out to 999.

Don't remember what setting was or if was in older Minetest builds.

Discussions about the maximum permitted stack would be useless if it could be overrode in minetest.conf or world.mt
 

Dragonop
Member
 
Posts: 1178
Joined: Tue Oct 23, 2012 12:59
GitHub: Dragonop
IRC: Dragonop
In-game: Dragonop

Re: Items stackable by 100 ?

by Dragonop » Sat Jul 04, 2015 15:58

+1 to 96 per stack.
There shouldn't be >100 (excluding 100) stacks, if so, chests are pretty useless in some way.
Actually 100 seems big, but doesn't seem as big as 101.

Edit: I think that you can give yourself (/giveme, /give user cmds) something like -1 and that will give you 49~~ something.
 

ABJ
Member
 
Posts: 2344
Joined: Sun Jan 18, 2015 13:02
GitHub: ABJ-MV
In-game: ABJ

Re: Items stackable by 100 ?

by ABJ » Sat Jul 04, 2015 16:05

/giveme default:blahblah 100 is not something everyone on MP can (and would want/bother to) do.
So need an alt
 

Hybrid Dog
Member
 
Posts: 2460
Joined: Thu Nov 01, 2012 12:46

Re: Items stackable by 100 ?

by Hybrid Dog » Sat Jul 04, 2015 17:06

ln my opinion minetest should set the default stack max to a random value between 71 and 127 if the value isn't set yet that servers get different stack max and playing makes more fun.
 

User avatar
webdesigner97
Member
 
Posts: 1307
Joined: Mon Jul 30, 2012 19:16
GitHub: webD97
IRC: webdesigner97
In-game: webdesigner97

Re: Items stackable by 100 ?

by webdesigner97 » Fri Jul 10, 2015 15:21

Hybrid Dog wrote:ln my opinion minetest should set the default stack max to a random value between 71 and 127 if the value isn't set yet that servers get different stack max and playing makes more fun.

IMHO that would be more annoying than fun :P
 

ABJ
Member
 
Posts: 2344
Joined: Sun Jan 18, 2015 13:02
GitHub: ABJ-MV
In-game: ABJ

Re: Items stackable by 100 ?

by ABJ » Sat Jul 11, 2015 19:06

.79rengisedbew ,kcab gnimoc er'uoy taht ees ot dalg m'I :CIPOTFFO
ONTOPIC: Yeah.....I...guess it would probably be very annoying yes.
 

User avatar
wilkgr76
Member
 
Posts: 680
Joined: Wed Feb 18, 2015 02:44
GitHub: wilkgr76
IRC: wilkgr
In-game: wilkgr

Re: Items stackable by 100 ?

by wilkgr76 » Wed May 11, 2016 03:09

+1 for 144
I do not care.
 

User avatar
snowflake
Member
 
Posts: 215
Joined: Mon Nov 16, 2015 16:50
IRC: snow__flake
In-game: snowflake

Re: Items stackable by 100 ?

by snowflake » Thu May 12, 2016 15:29

Calinou wrote:I agree, it should be 100 by default.


Same.. it's diffcult to do some maths xD

but in Minecraft its only stackable to 64..
✱ ŜИØŴℱŁΔҜΞ ✱
IF I REPORT ANY PROBLEM - SYSTEM
Ubuntu 15.04
32-bit
Memory-3.8GiB
Disk Space -310.8GB

DONT PM ME PLZ!!!! ,
 

vitalie
Member
 
Posts: 66
Joined: Wed Feb 24, 2016 07:38
GitHub: ciubotaru

Re: Items stackable by 100 ?

by vitalie » Thu May 12, 2016 16:17

+1 for 100

Other options, like 64 or 144, aren't much different from 99. Most people have difficulty with non-decimal systems, so "power-of-two" argumentation isn't really relevant.
 

User avatar
Linuxdirk
Member
 
Posts: 497
Joined: Wed Sep 17, 2014 11:21
GitHub: dsohler
In-game: Linuxdirk

Re: Items stackable by 100 ?

by Linuxdirk » Sun May 15, 2016 07:10

vitalie wrote:+1 for 100

Yes. You can calculate the amout of material on-the-fly with stacks of 100: “I have 15 stacks of cobblestone, that makes 1500 cobblestones in total which will be enough for what I want to do”, while when having stacks of 99 it is “I have 15 stacks of cobblestone, that makes … uhm … I guess I take another stack, just to be safe.”
 

Hybrid Dog
Member
 
Posts: 2460
Joined: Thu Nov 01, 2012 12:46

Re: Items stackable by 100 ?

by Hybrid Dog » Sun May 15, 2016 07:20

Linuxdirk wrote:
vitalie wrote:+1 for 100

Yes. You can calculate the amout of material on-the-fly with stacks of 100: “I have 15 stacks of cobblestone, that makes 1500 cobblestones in total which will be enough for what I want to do”, while when having stacks of 99 it is “I have 15 stacks of cobblestone, that makes … uhm … I guess I take another stack, just to be safe.”

15 * 99 = 15 * 100 - 15 = 1485
 

vitalie
Member
 
Posts: 66
Joined: Wed Feb 24, 2016 07:38
GitHub: ciubotaru

Re: Items stackable by 100 ?

by vitalie » Tue May 17, 2016 15:52

Hybrid Dog wrote:15 * 99 = 15 * 100 - 15 = 1485
Let's put it the other way round. "I need 1500 cobblestones. That would be ... err ... Hey, how many stacks would that be?"

With stacks of 100, you move the decimal point two positions to the left, round up and get the result. With stacks of 99 you do what? Yep, you do the same thing and take an extra stack just to be safe :-)
Last edited by vitalie on Wed May 18, 2016 03:07, edited 1 time in total.
 

User avatar
philipbenr
Member
 
Posts: 1665
Joined: Fri Jun 14, 2013 01:56
GitHub: philipbenr
IRC: philipbenr
In-game: WisdomFire or philipbenr

Re: Items stackable by 100 ?

by philipbenr » Tue May 17, 2016 19:27

I like 100... 144 is cool, but it is really weird...

100 or 99. After that, it gets complicated. Plus, people like multiples of 10.
 

User avatar
MineYoshi
Member
 
Posts: 4267
Joined: Wed Jul 08, 2015 13:20
GitHub: MineYosh
IRC: MineYoshi
In-game: Kirby_Retro

Re: Items stackable by 100 ?

by MineYoshi » Tue May 17, 2016 20:40

a question "/giveme default:mese 500" works?

I tried it many time ago but i don't know...
People talk about freedom of speech, so i'll say that God exists.
Open your eyes!! See The big unicorn conspiracy.!! :D The government has been lying to us about unicorns!!
"I've learned there are three things you don't discuss with people: religion, politics and the Great Pumpkin" - Linus Van Pelt
I'm the Officially 1st ABJist in the world ( ͡° ͜ʖ ͡°)
 

User avatar
Don
Member
 
Posts: 1641
Joined: Sat May 17, 2014 18:40
GitHub: DonBatman
IRC: Batman
In-game: Batman

Re: Items stackable by 100 ?

by Don » Tue May 17, 2016 22:22

MineYoshi wrote:a question "/giveme default:mese 500" works?

I tried it many time ago but i don't know...

Yes, giveme can add huge stacks.
Many of my mods are now a part of Minetest-mods. A place where you know they are maintained!

A list of my mods can be found here
 

User avatar
MineYoshi
Member
 
Posts: 4267
Joined: Wed Jul 08, 2015 13:20
GitHub: MineYosh
IRC: MineYoshi
In-game: Kirby_Retro

Re: Items stackable by 100 ?

by MineYoshi » Tue May 17, 2016 22:58

Don wrote:
MineYoshi wrote:a question "/giveme default:mese 500" works?

I tried it many time ago but i don't know...

Yes, giveme can add huge stacks.

thanks
But that huge stacks only work using the command...
People talk about freedom of speech, so i'll say that God exists.
Open your eyes!! See The big unicorn conspiracy.!! :D The government has been lying to us about unicorns!!
"I've learned there are three things you don't discuss with people: religion, politics and the Great Pumpkin" - Linus Van Pelt
I'm the Officially 1st ABJist in the world ( ͡° ͜ʖ ͡°)
 

User avatar
Don
Member
 
Posts: 1641
Joined: Sat May 17, 2014 18:40
GitHub: DonBatman
IRC: Batman
In-game: Batman

Re: Items stackable by 100 ?

by Don » Wed May 18, 2016 02:50

MineYoshi wrote:
Don wrote:
MineYoshi wrote:a question "/giveme default:mese 500" works?

I tried it many time ago but i don't know...

Yes, giveme can add huge stacks.

thanks
But that huge stacks only work using the command...

Mods can also set the size ofthestack. Just add stack_max = whatever to the node def.
Many of my mods are now a part of Minetest-mods. A place where you know they are maintained!

A list of my mods can be found here
 

User avatar
wilkgr76
Member
 
Posts: 680
Joined: Wed Feb 18, 2015 02:44
GitHub: wilkgr76
IRC: wilkgr
In-game: wilkgr

Re: Items stackable by 100 ?

by wilkgr76 » Wed May 18, 2016 03:38

No matter what we do, someone will be unhappy.

E.g, we do stacks of 600. SOMEONE will say that's too much. So we change to 300. Yep, you guessed it. Someone says that's not enough, and someone else says that's perfect and the next two people say it's too much.
I do not care.
 

PreviousNext

Return to Minetest Features

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 6 guests

cron